Reviews

Book Review – The Star-Touched Queen | When imagination is chaotic

Hello everyone!

First book of 2017 complete! I wish it was a good one. My full thoughts on the Star-Touched Queen below!


Author: Roshani Chokshi  tstq

Genre: Young adult mythology/fantasy

Paperback: 334 pages

Published: Harlequin Teen, 26 April 2016

Series:  The Star-Touched Queen companion series #1


Review:

Honestly, this book was a whole lot of disappointment. I wrote four pages of notes on it and over half are me internally rolling my eyes or writing something shady to the characters. By three-quarters in, I was ready to DNF this book but I persisted for the sake of wanting to add this to my read shelf on Goodreads and be warranted in writing a review.

I will say, I can appreciate how different this book is to anything else I’ve read and I enjoyed the diversity within it. But this book was not for me.

Things I Liked:

  • The Alice in Wonderland mixed with Indian mythology feel to the world in this book. We visit a place called The Night Bazaar and I really enjoyed these scenes and the way the weird and wonderful were incorporated into this book. Added a bit of excitement and fun.
  • Random, but our main character Maya had acne. That’s right, acne! I don’t think I’ve ever read a character with non-perfect skin. Represent!
  • The mythological stories. I found these fascinating and brought heaps of interest to the book. Also, the riddles (they were sometimes stupid) but overall I liked them.
  • Cultural aspects such as the food, dress, customs eg. the funeral in the beginning and the marriage ceremony.
  • Kamala. She was a dead, demonic horse…and by far the best character.
  • Sister bonding moments ❤
  • The general imagination that went into creating the settings. It was a little too much at times but I could appreciate the creativity.

Things I Didn’t Like:

  • The pacing. The beginning was super rushed and then the middle dragged on for eternity.
  • The writing was childish and just so weird. I don’t see how writing that makes no sense can automatically equal beauty. I literally understood nothing that was going on because the characters would say or describe things like:
  • “You look like edges and thunderstorms”…umm…what does that look like?

  • “You and I can carve lines into the universe and claim all that we want. We need only share between ourselves. Don’t you see?” – Sorry, Amar, I don’t. Plus please don’t destroy the world. I want to live in it.

  • “I want to measure eternity with your laughter” – And how might you do that?

  • “Her gaze was downcast, fixed on the sky” – Now that just makes zero sense.

  • Maya, just in general. She was so unbelievably gullible and made stupid decisions. Her character was inconsistent and even a little bratty. Exhibit A:”I want to rule” and then feels disappointed when there’s no one in the city to rule over. When some random person appears and starts telling her things, she believes them without a shadow of a doubt. Ugh.
  • The instalove…just unbearable. Yeah, it was explained but still, on Maya’s side it was way too fast.
  • Amar’s speech. Once again, he made no sense. He would say things like, “This is an odd time to be having lunch?”

Maya: ….”it’s 12:30″

Amar: “I’ll ask the questions.”

*Not an actual quote

  • The magic was just completely unexplained. But not only that, when Maya was in a situation where she really needed magic she would just magically know exactly what to do and how to call on it. Waaaaayy too convenient.
  • The general concept of someone being able to manipulate people’s deaths I felt was so wrong on many levels.
  • Did I mention how confused I was throughout this book??

Unfortunately, I was only able to give this book:  2 stars

two-stars-up


 If any of you have read this book, let me know what you thought. Do you agree with me or not? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83      Goodreads: Liamo’d       Instagram: @liamslibrary

6 thoughts on “Book Review – The Star-Touched Queen | When imagination is chaotic

  1. I am all kinds of curious to read your notes for this book.

    Honestly, I quietly DNFed it after the first chapter (maybe chapter and a half?); I’m glad I didn’t keep pushing through, because everything you criticized would’ve annoyed me to death. I am super excited about a protagonist with acne, though, and I’m a total sucker for horses (especially magical and/or demonic ones), so . . . I don’t know. If the positives didn’t outweigh the negatives for you, they probably wouldn’t for me either. Oh, well.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will say, some of the things I wrote were a bit of a laugh to read afterwards 🙂
      The temptation to DNF was so real. I just really wanted to say I’d read one book for my Goodreads goal in truth.
      Demonic horses are a good addition to any story I think!
      I’d say the negatives outweighed the positives for me so if your tastes are similar to mine it’s probably true that you wouldn’t like it.
      Thanks for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thank you for sharing your thoughts about this book! I heard quite a lot about it, and read both positive and negative reviews about this story. I don’t know if I could agree with this writing, especially that last quote you mentioned, it really doesn’t make sense. I think the story would’ve to completely pull me in for me to forget that. Well, maybe I’ll try to read it someday 🙂 Lovely review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Marie. I was very glad to add my thoughts to the pile haha!
      Right? I don’t know if that quote is trying to be abstract or something but I just sat staring at that line for ages trying to comprehend it.
      Well I hope if you do read it you are completely absorbed. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So I recently decided to make a switch to buying most of my books as electronic copies, and I am so glad I bought this one as an eBook now. I’m sorry to hear that the first book you read this year was subpar though. And I’ve heard a lot of polarizing things about this book even before reading your review; I guess it all depends if you can connect to the writing.

    “I don’t see how writing that makes no sense can automatically equal beauty.”
    And I love this statement because it’s so true.

    Anyway, I do hope you read better books this year!

    Summer

    Like

Leave a Reply

