Favourites · Lists · Uncategorized

Favourite Books of 2016!

Hello everyone!

I know there’s still be time left in the year but I’m reasonably sure I’m not going to read any literary masterpieces between now and December 31st so today I thought I’d share my favourite reads of this year.

Overall, I didn’t have a great reading year. Around the middle months of 2016, I was barely reading at all and I was in a big slump so many of my ratings are around 3 and 4 stars, which isn’t terrible but I wish I could’ve had more books to share with you all.

Enough of this negativity though because this post is a celebration of the best books I’ve read! I love each and every one of them to pieces and I recommend you pick up and read them if you haven’t.

Let the ridiculous fangirling begin! In no particular order:

the winner's crime  The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

This was an absolutely brilliant continuation to a trilogy. Often, the second book out of three can feel like a filler, but if anything, this one was the real stand out of the three for me. Fantastic character development and great expansion to the plot and world made for a gripping instalment in the Winner’s series.

cress Cress and Winter by Marissa Meyer   13206900

I procrastinated again and again in finishing this series. I needed one of my friends to buddy read this series with me for me to find the courage to read these two books…and guess what? The fear was all for nothing because these books were FANTASTIC. These characters are literally life ❤

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh  the wrath and the dawn

This book was so different from anything I’ve ever read before. I loved discovering the culture and world in this book. I also really connected with the main character Shazi and fell in love with Khalid so quickly it’s not even funny! The plot keeps you on the edge of your seat (along with a slow-burning but swoony romance) and I can’t for the life of me find out why I haven’t read the last book yet…

dance with the devil  Dance With the Devil by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Earlier on in the year I tried to broaden my genre horizons and read some urban fantasy. I experimented with some series but definitely felt that Kenyon’s ‘Night Pleasures’ series was my favourite. In particular, this third book. All books follow a similar romance plot line but the characters in this book just connected with me a bit more. I seriously can’t go past the ‘broken man brought to the light’ plot and this one pulls it off!

…and lastly, for my official favourite of the year: *drum roll*

EMPIRE OF STORMS BY SARAH J MAAS!!

28260587

 

It’s been a couple of days since I read this and I CANNOT STOP THINKING/FLAILING ABOUT IT! I’m starting to get concerned with myself. Seriously though this book gets better with every addition and I consider the characters my babies now. I need them all to get their happily ever afters in the final book-which I’m so ready for but also so not ready for. Sarah J Maas is a writing goddess and I can’t get enough! The final book in this series is easily my most anticipated release of 2017, hurry release date!


How was your year of reading in 2016? If you’ve read (and loved, because there are no other options) these books, let’s fangirl in the comments and also, let me know what your favourite books were this year, I’d love to get some recommendations!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83      Goodreads: Liamo’d       Instagram: @liamslibrary

10 thoughts on “Favourite Books of 2016!

  1. I still have to read the Winner’s trilogy 🙈
    I only read Cinder and it was okay, maybe I should continue the series…
    I really enjoyed The Wrath and The Dawn when I read it but still need to read the sequel
    As a lover *obsessed* of urban fantasy, I haven’t read that series and I feel like I need it ASAP
    And we already talked about EoS so…
    Definitely planning to do something like this once the year is closer to the end, great to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. DEFINITELY continue with the Lunar Chronicles…like, please!! It’s seriously so amazing. I think I might be getting The Rose and the Dagger around Christmas time so hopefully reading that will be happening soon.
      Can’t wait to read about your favourites of the year! Oh and enjoy the Winner’s series when you start it 🙂 Thanks Aldii

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh yes, i totally feel with the procrastinating on reading series – sometimes, if I don’t read it in one go, then I don’t think I’ll ever finish the series! Especially with Cress and Winter – they’re the last two books in the series, so getting that motivation must have been difficult! I know I’m stuck between Cress and Winter right now…Just gotta pick up Winter eventually and say goodbye to all the characters *bawls*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha what is it with the Lunar Chronicles and scaring all us readers away from it? My advice is just pick it up randomly and go for it, I promise it’s worth it! Saying goodbye to those characters will be difficult though, they were all my babies ❤ Best wishes for 2017

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

