TBRs

3 Books I Want To (At Least) Start by the End of 2016

Hi all!

With the large amount of time I took off from blogging this year, I wasn’t reading a lot. I have miserably failed with my Goodreads goal this year and just, in general, am trying to piece back together my reading mojo going into 2017.

To help myself stick to this commitment, I wanted to highlight the 3 books that I want to have started (or even finished) by the end of 2016 with you today. There are a few different reasons why I have chosen these books which I will get into. But with any luck, I will be able to carry some reading progression into the new year! Wish me luck ๐Ÿ™‚


1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling ย Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

This one is mainly for Christmas cheer…can you blame me? This book always manages not only to bring a smile to my face, but transport me to a world in which magical, white Christmases are a thing and it’s not 25+ degrees (or 77 degrees Fahrenheit) #AustraliaProblems. Harry and some of the gang being at Hogwarts for Christmas is one of the best things to read about during the festive season!

2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley ย Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

The perfect book to read at Christmas time!…well maybe not. But this one is for school next year and if I want to pass my class I need to know this book inside and out. I’m actually not dreading reading this book, I’ve heard good things from people who’ve read it and it’s a classic that isn’t too long or dragging. Hopefully the monster will get me a little creeped out. I never read scary books so I’m looking forward to getting this one started.

3. Dragonfly In Amber by Diana Gabaldon ย dragonfly

Obviously, I’ll never be able to finish this 900-page whopper before the end of the year and yes, due to its enormous size I want to start reading it before the start of next year so that I’ll be able to finish it before school starts again. I’m also preparing myself for the start of the third season of Outlander which is coming out next year! (Who else is excited??) I want to finish it before that begins. I’m so pumped after adoring the first book and both seasons of the show so far. Gimme more Jamie please!!


So that’s my rest-of-year TBR. I’m really excited for all three of these books.

What books do you have planned for the rest of 2016? If you’ve read any of these books, let me know your thoughts! How excited are you for Christmas or whatever holiday you celebrate? I can hardly wait!!ย 

Thank you so much for reading and Iโ€™ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83ย  ย  ย  Goodreads: Liamoโ€™dย  ย  ย  ย Instagram: @liamslibrary

14 thoughts on “3 Books I Want To (At Least) Start by the End of 2016

  1. Is it bad that i’ve not read any books by Diana Gabaldon yet? I must mark her down as an author to check out in 2017.
    Harry Potter definitely is a fantastic book to read at christmas, it also never fails to put me in a christmassy mood. For the end of 2016 I plan on reading Caravel by Stephanie Garber which I got in the mail today and its due for release January, SO excited. But I would also love to try re-read The Mortal Instruments (Maybe)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No of course it’s not bad! Have you watched the show? I think that’s a great way to get in the mood for the books and to not find them too slow or boring. Good luck in 2017!
      Ooh Caraval has been on my radar for a while now, I’ve heard lots of good things about it. I’ll have to pick it up in the new year when it comes out. Happy reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

