Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review – Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Hello everyone!

Yes, I have read this book twice in the one year. I don’t think this has ever happened to me but hey, there’s a first time for everything! I didn’t get a chance to share my thoughts on this book the first time I read it so I wanted to tell you guys all my blubbery thoughts on this emotionally draining roller coaster the second time around.


Author: Colleen Hoover  hopeless

Genre: New adult romance

Paperback: 403 pages

Published: Atria Books, May 7th 2013

Series: –


Synopsis:

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realises after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.


Review:

This book packs an emotional punch to say the least! Despite me reading it for the second time, there were still times in certain scenes where I had to put the book down while shaking my head and gasping from shock and sadness.

The main reason I re-read this was because I felt like I had forgotten a lot of the things that had happened and I wanted to see if I would rate this book more highly because I barely remembered the negatives I felt for this book. But, upon revisiting it, I’m keeping my original rating. Let me break down why.

One thing that I really liked about this book was the main character, Sky. I admired her courage and strength given all that she had gone through but also how she was mature and generally level-headed when faced with impossible moments and found it in her heart to keep on loving and forgiving. Her sarcastic remarks and bookworm personality always made me smile too.

However, sometimes she was a little too quick to forgive Holder when he did something wrong just because he was devilishly attractive. Plus she made some god-awful decisions like giving her PERSONAL ID TO A COMPLETE STRANGER!..I’m still racking my brains over that one.

alex

I also did not like the way she hit Holder a few times for absolutely no reason. Violence is never the answer and if Holder was about to make a bad decision, then that’s his business but that doesn’t give you an excuse to intervene in that manner. There was no reason to hit him ‘as hard as you can’.

I also generally liked Holder. In the beginning he was a bit creepy, following some girl and demanding her for her name. The ending explains his actions but it was still a bit weird and not really acceptable. He was too perfect if that’s even a thing and he always had the exact right thing to say…a little too always if you get me? Nevertheless, Colleen made it so easy to empathise with Holder and I felt everything he felt and I rooted for him to find a happy ending so badly. The shit he’s been through is ridiculous.

I liked the way the plot was written like a discovery because it made me keep turning pages like a mad man desperate for answers. This book is almost split up into two parts: 1. a normal, romance book with relationship development and all the rest of it; 2. A SHIT STORM. The twist of this story is so heartbreaking it’s scary. Seriously, there’s a trigger warning for everything in this book so if anything triggers you it would probably be best to avoid this one. Personally, I liked the way the plot seemed like a biography written in a different way with the main character going through things only like, 2% of the population deals with. But man, it remains one of the only books to make me actually cry.

I worry that I rate this book highly as a result of my absolute sympathy for the main character but I really did love the themes of self-discovery, personal strength, love and forgiveness even if it may seem like Colleen just shoved in every sad theme she could think of to create a bombshell.

After I finished Hopeless I naturally went to on Goodreads to see what other people thought of this book and was really so surprised to see that people thought Sky slut-shamed. I didn’t really see it that way when she says that she is in no way a slut. She simply wishes to defend herself from people who are bullying her without even knowing her. She never says anything about other girls being ‘sluts’. I just thought I’d add in my own two cents worth there!

Overall, Colleen brought attention to a dark issue in a meaningful and well thought-out way.

I gave Hopeless: (or somewhere around here depending on my mood)

four-stars_0


If any of you have read this book, let me know what you thought. Do you agree with me or not? Or have I convinced any of you to give this series a go? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83      Goodreads: Liamo’d       Instagram: @liamslibrary

8 thoughts on “Book Review – Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

  1. i loved this book. I think I ended up giving it 4.5 stars. Even though I predicted almost everything that would happen, it was still a punch in the gut reading it, and I really loved it. I’m with you on the slut shaming thing, I never felt it to be honest. great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My first time reading it I barely picked up on the twist, but when I read it again, I found way more hints and clues, it was quite fun to discover them all. And my god, such a depressing book but I agree, it was soo good at the same time! Thanks Cristina 🙂

      Like

  2. Great review! I’ve only picked up one Colleen Hoover book before and I have a feeling this may be the second, it sounds so great! Some aspects of it do definitely seem flawed and I’ll keep my eye out for those but otherwise, it seems I’ll love this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

