life

What’s been going on? | Life Update

Hi everyone!

Even just writing that line makes me so happy! But if you’re asking yourself right now, “who are you?” I wouldn’t blame you, it’s been that long.

It’s been almost 2 and a half months since I’ve posted anything on this blog. It’s crazy how busy life gets. Since I last updated you all, I’ve hosted a French person for a whole month at my house, had a week-long camp, had no internet for six weeks, visited France for three weeks (which  was absolutely wonderful) and had some sad times including a close family death. Life has been an emotional rollercoaster.

But I’ve missed books and the amazing people in the blogosphere too much so I decided that it’s time to get back to it (even if I do have exams in a couple of weeks).

I don’t exactly know what I want to talk about in this update post. I guess I’ll discuss the books that I’ve read since my hiatus (which is a rather sad 3 books).

In early August I read Still Alice by Lisa Genova which I thought was wonderful and heartbreaking. I still think about that book even now and think that it portrays Alzheimer’s disease realistically but also with a great mix of humour and sadness. I believe I gave this book 4 stars.

In mid-August, I finally finished A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. I wish I could’ve written a review for this book at the time because I have so many feelings about it! Basically, the first half I really didn’t like and then the second half I loved. It was like a whole different story…or a whole different me, I’m not sure. 3.75 stars for this one.

Lastly, towards the end of August, I read Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. I really enjoyed this book. The writing made it feel more like a middle-grade book so if it was advertised as one, I think I would’ve enjoyed it even more. But I loved the characters and the interesting world. I also think it could’ve been a standalone but nevertheless, my fangirlish heart won’t resist a second and third book. Another solid 4 stars.

So those are the few books I’ve read. What have you been reading recently? It’d be great to hear about what you’ve been loving so I can get some good recommendations!

What else is new with me? I’ve been obsessing over Pinterest recently and my profile has undergone a huge makeover. If you’re interested, you can see my profile here. I’m reading Harry Potter in French to help with my language skills which is slow but such fun progress, although I hate how they changed so many names!

That’s about it for me. What have you been up to?


I hope to be able to post more now although as I said, I have exams coming up soon so it may not be too often. It’s so great to be back.

Let’s chat in the comments!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83   Goodreads: Liam   Instagram: @liamslibrary

 

10 thoughts on “What’s been going on? | Life Update

  1. Welcome back 😀
    And I totally agree with the Harry Potter changing names, it was so annoying to me! Because I fust read it in french when I was a kid and when my English got good enough and tried to Watch the movies in English, I just got confused and dropped it. Now that I have read them in English though I think I go back and Watch them. I also think that the English names are better (just saying haha)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Great to be back 🙂
      I just wasn’t expecting it at all so it took me forever to realise that Moldus were muggles. It was kind of funny actually. But Poudlard instead of Hogwarts?? Come on! Ugh I wish I could just be good at languages but it’s a struggle. Well done to you though, your English is great! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that in french the names are funny to be honest 😂 Like Longdubat which is the literal translation for Longbottom and some other ones I can’t remember now! And yes the change for Hogwarts is drastic if you ask me!
        Hahaha I know right!! But you’re reading HP in french and that is impressive really, especially if you haven’t picked up the language since childhood !
        Aaw thank you! It means a lot 😙

        Like

  2. It’s great to see you posting again. Sorry for your loss. You’ve had a busy time while you were away. Those are 3 good books even though I haven’t finished A Court of Mist and Fury.I’m currently reading Crooked Kingdom which is amazing. You should try it if you’ve read the first book Six of Crows.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s great to find time again after all the busyness of life. Thank you!
      Yes I guess you’re right, only three books, but three good books. I haven’t read Six of Crows yet but I’m dying to. Hoping to get my hands on a copy very soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So great to have you back, Liam! Good luck for your exams coming soon, and I will look forward to more of your posts, or at least knowing what you’re reading 🙂 It’s so great you’re reading Harry Potter in French, it was the other way around for me, I was confused once I read them in English since I am French and was used to the French names ahah. By the way if you ever need help with French, well… I can help 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so great to talk to you again Marie! I feel like it’s been whole ages 😀 Thank you, exams stress you out but they’re over quickly.
      When reading Harry Potter in French I always have a pen and paper sitting next to me and usually some form of translation help too so that when I come across a word I don’t know or an expression, I write it down to learn it. I’ve already filled up five pages in half a book. You learn a lot through reading. Thanks, if ever my exchange student isn’t available I’ll come running to you for translation help haha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, exams are over in just a moment, and afterwards you wonder what you were so stressed out about – well, that’s what it did for me, haha.
        Exactly, I agree! As a French reading in English for, well, years, at first I learned a whole lot while reading, and I still do. That’s the best, learning and having a great time as well 🙂
        Of course, you’re welcome 🙂

        Like

  4. Welcome back. I can definitely see why a hiatus was needed. Those last two months sound crazy but amazing. Good luck with your exams, I’m sure you’ll absolutely smash them. 😀
    Life has been pretty hectic for me this past month. I’ve just returned from a month long stint in New Zealand so adjusting to “reality” has been a struggle. However, I am happy to report that I finally have my copy of Crooked Kingdom so I can get my reading mojo going again. :D.

    Like

Leave a Reply

