Tags

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | 2016 Edition

Hi everyone!

So I’m back! It feels great to be sitting at my computer and writing this. I’ve missed the blogosphere so much. I hope we can all chat and you can let me know what I’ve missed out on during these past few weeks. I can’t wait to hear about what you’ve been up to.

In case any of you are interested, my exchange friend from France was wonderful and I had the time of my life showing her around my city (and others), getting to know her and becoming friends. My only wish is that the time went a bit slower because saying goodbye was hard.

The bad news is I did not finish one single book while I was on my short hiatus from my blog. Shameful, I know. I’m falling even further behind on my Goodreads goal. But I can deal with it. But I really want to get back into the swing of reading again so I’m here to talk about my year so far in books.

The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag was created by Chami and Ely on Youtube. Let’s jump on in!


1. Best book read in 2016 so far?

the wrath and the dawnGiven that I have only read 17 books this year, there haven’t been many standouts thus far. However, there is one book that trumps above all at the moment, and that is The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh.

 

It was beautifully written, had amazing characters and an intensely addicting plot. Nothing not to like really. It’s now one of my favourite books ever.

2. Best sequel read in 2016 so far?  the winner's crime

Hands down The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski. Wow, what a book. It took book one’s best aspects and multiplied them all by a-bajillion. I was taken aback by how much I loved this book.

 

3. New release you haven’t read, but want to.

Relating to the answer before, I’d have to say The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh. I CANNOT WAIT TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS TO ALL MY BABIES.

Secondary honours go to The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi because damn that book is beautiful; both the cover and the synopsis.

4. Most anticipated releases for the second half of the year?

28260587How can I go past Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas for this answer? Queen of Shadows is one of my favourite books ever and I have been not-so-patiently waiting to know what happens next for almost a year. This book needs to hurry up and be delivered right to my doorstep so I can devour it.

 

5. Biggest disappointment?  the kiss of deception

I equally haven’t read many terrible books this year but there was one that I didn’t even finish and that is The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. There really is no other way to describe this book except for bad. The writing was not engaging at all, the characters were all stupid and whiny and there was a general lack of spark. This is the third time I have tried to read this book and now I’ve officially decided it’s never going to happen between us.

6. Biggest surprise?

hopelessThis goes to Hopeless by Colleen Hoover. My goodness do I dislike some of Hoover’s other books, yet something convinced me that trying this one last one would be a good idea…I should trust that ‘thing’ more often because I indeed loved this book. I actually teared up in this book and that never happens to me. It had such a profound emotional effect on me which is always a sign of a fantastic book.

7. Favourite new author (debut or new to you)?

Nicola Yoon all the way. I devoured Everything, Everything and just knew that I would love almost anything this author could write. She’s just got that style that appeals to my bookish subconsciousus. I’m so excited for The Sun Is Also A Star!

8. Newest fictional crush?

Haha The Wrath and the Dawn again..yeah it’s Khalid. Damn he’s got that brooding/mysterious/way with words thing down!

9. Newest favourite character?

James Fraser and Claire Beecham from Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Together, separately, wherever. These two are perfection!

outlander-episode-7

10. Book that made you cry?

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover. My god this lady knows how to pack a punch…in the heart. All the feels!

11. Book that made you happy?  everything everything

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. These characters wormed their way into my heart so quickly, there was nothing I could do even if I wanted to.

 

12. Most beautiful book you’ve bought (or received) so far this year?

FullSizeRender (9)I believe I actually received Winter by Marissa Meyer in 2016 so probably that one. I literally just walk up to my shelves, pick it up and stare at it while I rub the beautiful hard cover. Don’t judge me!

 

13. Books you need to read by the end of the year?

How much time have you got?

14. Favourite book community member (blogger, booktuber, bookstagrammer)?

It’s not individuals who make this community great, it’s everyone combined. I spread the love-you’re all wonderful and amazing!!


So this tag just reminded me that I need to get off my butt and start reading again because I seriously miss it. I hope I can catch up with some of you in the comments! Hope these past weeks have been treating you well 🙂

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83   Goodreads: Liam   Instagram: @liamslibrary

9 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag | 2016 Edition

    1. OMG YES read it ASAP, it’s amazing! I can’t believe I haven’t read The Rose and the Dagger yet, I’m terrible with new book releases…I’m definitely in the minority with The Kiss of Deception so don’t be put off too much. From my point of view though I couldn’t understand the hype. Happy reading!

      Like

    1. Ugh life gets so busy sometimes. Hope you’ve been well! I hope you can find some time to reply to my message so we can catch up on all that’s been going on. I won’t abandon you Charley, blogging is too much fun for that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

