Tags

New York Times By The Book Tag

Hi everyone!

I feel like I haven’t done a tag in ages! (That’s probably because I haven’t been very active on the interwebs recently…sorry) and I’m feeling a little lacking in inspiration for ideas. Hopefully, it will be a fun way to get me back in that bookish mood.

Anyway, I was tagged by my lovely good friend Charley @booksandbakes1 to participate in the New York Times By The Book Tag. The original was created by Marie Berg on Youtube.

New York and books…let the perfection begin!


What book is on your nightstand now?

outlanderI  have two books on my nightstand at the moment but there’s only one I’m physically reading. That one is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I’ve been obsessed with the TV show recently. It’s about a nurse from World War II who gets transported back in time to mid-18th century Scotland and all her adventures there.

acomaf

The other book is A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas which I actually had to put down because it was making me feel really slumpy. I desperately hope I like it when I try again because I don’t want a mob of angry people chasing me with pitchforks.

2. What was the last truly great book you’ve read?

the wrath and the dawn

I’m a bit sad to say that so far, 2016 has not been a great reading year for me. But the best book I’ve read recently would have to be The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh. You can read my review for it here but in summary, the world and characters were so brilliantly diverse and loveable. A fantastic debut!

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

OMG there are so many though! What kind of torture? I mean, of course, there’s JK Rowling but aside from her (because I need to stop using Harry Potter for everything) I’m going to say Tahereh Mafi and Charlotte Bronte. These two would be so different but both of their books’ mean so much to me and I think the three of us would get on quite nicely.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

Hmm this is a hard question. You guys might be surprised to know that I have quite a large classics section on my bookshelves given that I don’t really talk about classic on my blog. It includes four Shakespeare plays, Austen, Bronte, Steinbeck, Dickens and more.

5. How do you organise your personal library?

I’m a basic bitch and I simply organise my bookshelves by genre and then within that genre, alphabetical order by the author’s last name. I wish I was more of an artiste and organised them in some pretty way for everyone to admire…oh well.

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? Pride-and-Prejudice_BN

Oh that would for sure be Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I’ve always wanted to read it but it’s just never happened. The thing is, I really think I’d like it, I’m into the historical romance kind of thing. It will happen soon! Then I can finally watch the movie too.

7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

…prepares for attack. We can all respect each other’s opinions, right?

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

I’m sorry but I thought this book was quite overrated. Maybe Green’s writing style just doesn’t click for me because I couldn’t connect to anything, plot or characters. But I completely understand why it’s so popular and its appeals and messages are great.

8. What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I just did a post about my bookish buzz words where I talk about the specific themes that I like to read in a book. Basically, I really enjoy stories with magic but the most important thing for me is characters that are interesting and that I can connect to. If a book doesn’t have that it’s doubtful that I’ll find any pleasure in reading it.

9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

7893725Because the question asked for the President, not the Prime Minister of Australia I’m going to go with Hate List by Jennifer Brown.

I think this book is more important than ever for the American President to read given the tragedies that occurred in Orlando and the many others that have happened due to gun violence. It demonstrates the extent to which hate can affect people’s lives and the devastating consequences of guns in the wrong hands. I’m sorry to get political but I’m still so saddened by what has happened and the lack of action taking place.

10. What do you plan to read next?

Good question. I’m not quite sure as of yet. It could be Dragonfly In Amber by Diana Gabaldon, the second Outlander book or probably A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas to see if I will in fact like it in the end *bites fingernails*.


So there you have it! These were some fun questions. Thanks again to Charley for tagging me. I’d like to tag some people:

Joey @thoughtsandafterthoughts

Kevin @bookevin

Kat @Life and Other Disasters

Aldii @perfectioninbooks

Feel free to ignore if it’s not your thing or if you just don’t want to!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83   Goodreads: Liam   Instagram: @liamslibrary

 

29 thoughts on “New York Times By The Book Tag

  1. I cannot believe you haven’t finished ACOMAF yet.You HAVE to get around to reading it or you’re off my cool people list.

    Pride and Prejudice was so clever, Liam. I was properly pleased when I had to read it for Literature in Sixth Form. Easiest subject ever.

    Thank you for the tag!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I needed a break from it. Plus Outlander’s a big book, it’s taking me a while to finish it. I’ll pick ACOMAF back up after. Will I stay on the cool people list if I read it but don’t like it? :/
      Enjoy the tag!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marie! Yes omg I need TRATD in my hands right now, especially after that ending! I’ve tried Paper Towns (which I hated even more) and Looking For Alaska (which is probably my favourite that I’ve read but I didn’t LOVE it). Maybe it’s just not meant to be between us 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s such a relief to know that someone else isn’t digging ACOMAF as much as other people on the blogosphere. 😄 Personally, I hated it – more because of the decisions Maas made with regards to her characters rather than the book’s story itself.
    Also pleasantly surprised that you’ve read Hate List. It was one of the first books I read when I was getting into the book community, and it’s such a poignant read; definitely should be required reading in America given the state of things. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult was an even better school-shooting read, in my personal opinion. Would definitely recommend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right? The average rating for ACOMAF is something ridiculous like 4.7?! But I put it down less than halfway through it so there’s still hope. But I can completely understand how lonely the people who don’t like it must feel.
      Ooh yes I’ve heard about Nineteen Minutes and also This Is Where It Ends which are both on my TBR. Not to sound strange or cruel but the topic is quite interesting to read about and yes, so important. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What are some of your favourite classics? Have you read anything by Oscar Wilde? 🙂
    I also didn’t like The Fault in our Stars either, but I can understand why it’s so popular. Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My favourite classic of all time is Jane Eyre. It’s stunning! I have The Picture of Dorian Grey on my Kindle but I haven’t read it yet. I’m excited to, though!
      Ooh another rare soul who didn’t enjoy TFIOS. We’re a small club haha 🙂 Thanks Fatima!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it’s crazy how aggressive or personal some people take it when others don’t like ACOMAF hahaha it’s a bit ridiculous. I personally loved it and I still think that everyone deserves a right to their own opinion. So, don’t worry if you don’t end up loving it. It happens!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha some people can be very defensive about their favourite books, me included probably. I’m always a bit wary to post anything to do with unpopular opinions but in the end, we all have to respect each others’ differences. Anyway, I still have hope that ACOMAF will get better for me! Thanks Kat 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

