Discussion

Blog vs. Life – A Discussion

Hi everyone!

Today’s discussion post is going to be a personal one. It’s more about me vomiting words in order to get it all out and hopefully being able to feel better.

So, you may or may not have noticed, but I am a very sporadic blogger. Recently, it’s really hit me how different my blog is compared to other people’s. I think that’s what this post really comes down to, comparing myself to others. I’ve always been a self-conscious and insecure person so it’s hard to avoid for me. I’m also not the most organised of people. But for no apparent reason it’s become more prominent especially when it comes to blogging.

To start, I often hear people say things such as:

“Oh goodness, I only have 3 scheduled posts left. Better get writing soon before I fall behind”

and

“I’m so sorry that I missed my normal 6th post of the week yesterday guys. I’ve been swamped.”

Firstly, I state for the record that I have never scheduled a post excluding one time when I went away with no access to internet.

Secondly, there was a time when I went 27 days without posting once (not on hiatus).

*Hears the sound of bloggers dying of shock everywhere*

I’m sure we’re all busy and I am in absolute awe of people who can keep up with a blogging schedule such as the one I talk about above. You rock! But for me, it’s just not possible. And that’s what this post is trying to do, to make me more comfortable and happy with my own blogging situation.

My life is hectic. I juggle the normal busy student life of the final years of school, homework and studying are a constant, I learn three instruments and am a part of two music ensembles, I play two sports and have to train for both of them and play matches and so with various other random pop-ups such as appointments or family events, my spare time is small. (It’s usually filled with reading). I blog when I can and when I’m in the mood. But sometimes I feel it’s not enough.

I know if I really set my mind to it, I could improve my typical 4-5 posts per month and I’m willing to try and improve my blogosphere effort. Even commenting on your brilliant posts deserves more time. However then a question of what gets sacrificed so that this can be achieved or maybe what priorities need to change in order to show how much I love blogging and books and all of you wonderful people reading this. Because I really, really do and I don’t think I’m doing that justice. Blogging takes time and effort and I don’t want to have to sacrifice either one of those things but I also know that the most important thing is that I’m feeling happy with all aspects of my life.

I guess I’m asking what you guys do to stay on top of your blogging lives and real lives? Do you set aside time on the weekend to mass write posts or comment on other’s people blogs? Maybe you even use certain apps or an organisation tool?

To sum all this rambly-ness up, what I need to do is find a balance in life that covers all bases and ensures that my passions are allowed to be explored.


Hopefully you’re not all cringing at this random, abrupt outpour of the heart.

cooltext181635803649997

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83   Goodreads: Liam   Instagram: @liamslibrary

45 thoughts on “Blog vs. Life – A Discussion

  1. This is such a great post, and I’m so happy you wrote it and shared your feelings. I think that finding balance is a really hard thing to do, I struggle with it everyday. For me, being organized and scheduling really is the key, but I know that’s not how everyone rolls, and blogging when you want, can and FEEL like it, really is what you should do. Because before everything, it’s a hobby, and I know all about comparing yourself to others, I always do it, I can’t help myself, but you should do your own thing, and you’ll be much, much happier. I’m really obsessed about everything blogging, and this week I took a step back, took two days to answer to comments because my family was over (I don’t see them often). And it felt SO good.
    ANYWAY, hm, if I can give some tips… I’m taking usually my Sunday or Saturday to really plan out the week: the posts I want to write, schedule, I mostly do it all on one of these days, and during the week when I feel motivation, idea, or anything I write it down during a break or anything, even during work haha. But having a day, or at least a few hours, completely FOR blogging, really helps me feel focused, and knowing what’s coming next, what I want to do, what reviews I need to write, etc. As for blog hopping, well, I do that daily, or almost daily, whenever I get a break, an hour aside, and I comment and like on posts, so I don’t feel too far behind. BUT this is impossible to do this daily, I’ll admit it, so sometimes, I just skip things. And it’s okay, I guess.
    I think before everything, you should focus on what makes you happy, both in life and in blogging. If scheduling or spontaneousity is more for you, etc etc.
    Wow, I’m so sorry for that long comment, but I do hope I helped a bit 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Marie. You always leave the best and most supportive comments. It means a lot. ❤
      Absolutely! Balance is the most important thing. I'm gradually finding that for myself at the moment but right now, an exam period is coming up and I feel like I may be neglecting my blog a bit. I just have to have faith that if I love doing it, I'll make time for it.
      Thanks for your tips. I'm definitely thinking about at least writing one post to schedule on the weekend and then having another spontaneous post during the week to cover both sides of the coin. I love how you have a journal or notebook (?) that you write your ideas down in, it would be so helpful for me to utilise a tool like that to stay on top of things. Even answers for tags etc.
      Even though I don't want to restrict my life to following a strict schedule, I'll make time most days to comment and check out other blogs. It's important for me to do that and give back the love.
      Thanks again for the really sweet and helpful comment! Your ideas are brilliant. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a brilliant post, so honest and I can fully relate. Like you I have always been insecure and I stare at people’s blogs comparing myself to them and think how do they do it? I’ve never wrote posts in advance, usually its just a stream of thoughts coming out at midnight because I’m like ‘I need to post!!!’. I go on hiatus all the time just keeping up with Uni so I can go weeks or days, then I come back and can post daily. I usually check my blog everyday just to see whats happening. For me my blog is my escape too, currently i’m in exam season of my 2nd year at university and things are stressful so I come on to have a break from revision so I don’t send myself crazy.
    I’m learning to not overthink about my posts, i’m posting for me because I love this community and just want to share my thoughts. We need to do things our way and stop worrying about everyone else, taking breaks is fine. You’re doing great, don’t cut out things you enjoy because you feel like you have to post. Blogging is meant to be fun, an addition. Do what makes you happy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the supportive and personal comment! The way you deal with the comparisons and blogging life is pretty much exactly how I aim to be.
      I can totally relate to staying up late just because you feel as though you ‘need to post’. But I feel as though I’m coming to the realisation that I love blogging so I never need to feel as though it’s any sort of chore. Thanks for your tips too. Learning not to compare (too much) and focusing on what I’m doing is a priority for me.
      Thanks again and good luck with your university exams! 😀

      Like

  3. Oh man, your life sounds beyond busy. Do you ever get any sleep? Are you even human?? (Kidding, kind of.)

    I don’t think I have any advice that’d be applicable to your crazy-busy schedule, but I’d like to at least reassure you that it’s okay to post on a very infrequent schedule. Before I started my snarky read-along thing, I was only posting twice a month–and I’ll go back to that after the read-along’s over. Blogging’s more fun for me if I’m not stressed about meeting a quota or deadline. And like Marie and Hannah said: having fun with your blog (and life in general) is more important than churning out some predetermined number of posts.

    Don’t worry about your readers; we’ll be happy to read anything you post for us, no matter how infrequently the posts come. We won’t be hunting you down with pitchforks just because you have a busy life that interrupts your blogging schedule, I promise. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha thanks for the reassuring comment, Liam!
      (Damn you got me…I’m really a robot-alien).
      But yeah, the most important thing to remember is that blogging is supposed to be fun and if I really love it I know I’ll make time for it somehow.
      Phew! It’s good to know I won’t be hunted down by a mob of angry readers. I was worried for a minute there. 🙂
      Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh man, we’re a lot alike. I have zero organisational skills & I’ll forget to post things. I’m so behind on tags cause I keep saying *eh, later.*

    Imma have to steal tips people give you, here, I think!! Sporadic bloggers unite! *high fives*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, welcome! Join the club!
      Oh my god I am soooo behind on tags it’s not funny but at the same time I don’t want to do too many of them. Struggles.
      I’m happy to share any tips I get. *high fives back* 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a wonderful post and I can definitely relate to a lot of the things you say. I am not the most organized person and I usually find that, like my reading, I blog when I’m in the mood to do so. The reason I waited until I graduated university to start the blog was because I knew I wouldn’t find that balance between blogging and life. I’ve noticed that I’ve been slacking on some aspects of blogging recently because my own life is starting to get a bit more hectic between work and making traveling plans.

    I think at the end of the day, you blog when you want to. Obviously with your very busy schedule finding time to slot in blogging is hard. However, you shouldn’t worry about it. Chances are every blogger has something else going on in their lives and we understand that time is limited. No one’s going anywhere so take the time you need, blog when you feel like it and most of all enjoy and be happy. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww thanks Lois! Sounds like we must be long-lost twins.
      I hope you find the balance with your busy work life too.
      So true. Blogging is something I enjoy and is a passion of mine so I know that I will find time to fit it in. It makes me happy and that’s the most important thing. Thanks for the reassurance and sweet message ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is great to read because I feel like I’m going to be in your situation soon.
    I would say ‘Don’t compare yourself with others’ but being realistic I do that so I can’t talk 😂
    I have been less active since I started school again in March and that will get worse as I get to more important tests,homewors,research,training,studying and all what is my life.
    It’s not easy to find balance. I try to write what I can and most of the post for the week in the weekend. Scheduling is a great tool for me and if I hadn’t it I don’t know what would I do. I know in the week I can’t write, I can barely come and read other’s posts. As to keep up in commenting I must say that I don’t do it that often since I don’t have a lot of time. However, everytime I come I try to read 3 to 4 posts and leave a comment, maybe long like this one or just one short.
    My life is getting busier and busier as months come and go and I just don’t know how I will handle my blogging and real life. Now, for example, this weekend I had to write some tags and I just couldn’t because life got there first. I will do it when I have time and want (I think).
    I don’t know if I answered or if this is of any help, I mostly wrote my situation 😂
    But anyway, I hope you find that balance! And if you do let me know how! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks for the personal and reassuring comment Aldii!
      I’m sure you’ll find a way to find the balance in your own life too even if it takes you a while to figure it all out. All your readers will be waiting for you!
      It’s hard not to compare and it’s normal to do it, it’s just making sure you don’t do it too much in a way where you’re trying to be like someone else. The most important thing is to stay true to who you are.
      I’m definitely going to think about writing a scheduled post on the weekend and maybe having a spontaneous post during the week so I can do both.
      I often have trouble finding time to comment and read everyone’s posts too but everyone’s busy and I’m sure bloggers understand. I do.
      Yes you have to be in the mood and actually WANT to blog. Otherwise, it’s pointless. Make sure you stay happy and do what you want and what’s in your best interests.
      Stay positive and thanks again ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Love this post, Liam! It’s hard to admit our insecurities. Thank you for sharing your personal thoughts. However much people say they love blogging there’s a part of them that will always recognize that blogging is time consuming and difficult work sometimes. I feel that way at least. Especially when I first started blogging. I really struggled with finding a balance between my normal, real life and blogging. Instead of organization and consistency, I had insecurities that if I didn’t post anything no one would care or read my posts anymore. (I was releasing 10 or 11 posts monthly.) I think now that I’ve lifted that pressure from my mind, I blog much more freely. (I now generally post 6-8 posts, which is manageable to do in my free time for me. But they all tend to be scheduled.) Even though I schedule posts, I don’t have a particular schedule I follow (like every Tuesday/Thursday). I’m more like you, I’m pretty spontaneous and sporadic. I’ll blog any time at the week but I do have this weird thing where I never post more than once a day and I’m not really fold of posting on consecutive days unless I have to (for example, I posted something Monday but I want to participate in that week’s Top Ten Tuesday; those moments can’t be helped). As for finding a balance, I find that logging out of my WordPress on both the phone app and my computer, makes me less tempted to check my stats and therefore WordPress (because let’s face it, I’m too lazy to log in, lol). I also like to schedule posts even if I’m not exactly away from the blogosphere because I tend to like to post 12:00 am or 1:00 pm EST time. But that’s more preference than anything with organization. I also find it helps to leave a disclaimer in one of the sidebar widgets saying I won’t be able to reply to comments until a certain time (like “everyone I’ll be back in May”); this helps a lot when I’m in school. As for blog hopping, I used to visit all these random blogs when I was just beginning Xingsings… but now I only visit blogs I follow when their posts show up on my WordPress reader (like yours) or the blogs of my commenters on my blog (regardless if they follow or don’t follow me). Because if they took the time to visit and comment, I’ll do the same. But haha, I’ll end this comment here before it gets any longer… Again, I’m really happy you shared this post, Liam! Brilliant discussion. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Summer, you’re amazing! This was one of the best comments I’ve ever received. I’m glad you enjoyed this post and that people out there (behind their computer screens) can relate, it makes me feel not so alone. I can definitely relate to how you felt starting up. Because I was so busy (and still new and confused about the blogosphere) I looked at other bloggers who seemed to have so much more growth and felt really insecure but I realise now that you get out of blogging what you put in. Passion and interaction go a long way. I’m determined to make sure that spontaneity doesn’t become a bad thing. I want to be able to find a balance and stay organised but still keep that part of me that wants to be free of pressure and stagnation. Thanks for all your ideas. In the next couple of weeks I’ll be looking to make better use of my diary/journal, try to schedule posts and see how it works and maybe log out of my WordPress every now and then (I’m too lazy as well, nobody’s got time for logging in). My commenting/interaction time is very random. I tend to just decide one day that I’m going on to my WordPress reader and commenting on the posts that catch my eye. To be honest, I like that I do that (though I should really do it more often). Thanks for this super long comment. They’re my favourites. Even if I have to copy and paste them into a document so I can remember to address everything haha! I’m happy I shared this post too 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “Passion and interaction go a long way.” That’s probably the best phrase to associate with blogging. Awesome, those really sound like healthy plans. I’m happy that you plan to join the scheduling team; I hope that you’ll find scheduling posts in advance works out for you. And even more important, good luck with finding your balance with your real life and internet one, Liam! Wishing you all the best with everything. And you’re welcome, thank you for replying to my comment so thoroughly. 🙂

        Like

  8. So I know I am a few days late and you have already received some wonderful advice and thoughts, but I want to say lovely post. I love when fellow bloggers are honest and real, sometimes we need to just pour out our thoughts, and I think that is healthy and beneficial to all!

    Anyhow, as far as some organizational tips I have a few things I do to help me stay organized. Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday I sit down for an hour (more or less depending on the day) and write posts. I try and schedule them before hand. I don’t blog on the other days of the week unless I want to, and this helps me manage my time. I also set aside some time at the start of each month and plan out what I want to write that month, this helps me use that hour that blog productively, because I already have an idea of what I want to write. I usually read and comment on blogs before I start to write my own posts.

    So that’s what I do, I hope that was helpful! Know that no matter how often you post, or how organized your blog is, your blog is awesome and I love reading your posts. Just make sure that you are happy, whether that means blogging a little more or whether it means blogging a little less !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks so much! Honesty is the best policy, well, better than a false facade.
      Thanks for your tips and advice. All help is so appreciated! I’m definitely going to try and set aside blocks of time to write and schedule posts (once my exams have finished!) I really like how you plan monthly, that’s a great idea and super productive! I might steal that.
      Thanks again so much for the kind comment and the reassurance. Your ideas really helped 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Writing up posts the day of is very me (so don’t feel like you’re alone in that department). I only schedule once in a blue moon if I’m lucky (which is never) and though I’m planning things all the time, some of it materializes but days/weeks after idea conception.

    The point I’m getting at is that even though you may blog once or twice a week (less/more depending) — which is fine — you seem to have your blog on your mind. Unless I’m reading what you’re saying wrong, then please do correct me. And because you have it on your mind, you can still draft posts in your head (or on paper, whatever) wherever you are. To be honest, I do most of my blog post thinking when I’m out and about. I typically sit down and write it when I think I have something solid to do off of. (This mainly applies for reviews and feature posts–not memes. Those I sit down and crank out the night prior usually). Alternatively, I create draft posts (or schedule it months in advance) and work on it every so often. It might not turn out as how you planned it to (an idea evolves, basically) but it’s something that might help you in churning out more posts over time.

    Honestly though, the community will be here when you return and as much as your voice (which is and was on fire) is missed, everyone’s also happy to see you doing well in life as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s good to know that I’m not alone with scheduling. Sometimes I get a spontaneous idea and just want to churn out the post right away. But I definitely see the benefits in scheduling consistency.
      Yes my blog is on my mind, and that’s a start for sure. I sometimes do what you do too where I create a draft (usually just the idea and then come back to it when I have time to write it all up) but it could be good to do what you do and stagger the work so that my posts don’t seem like I was in a mad rush to finish them (which I fear is what happens sometimes).
      The reassurance is appreciated Joey, thanks for your help and advice 🙂

      Like

  10. I think a lot of bloggers, including me, can feel the pressure that you do, so know that you’re not alone! I personally just graduated college, but this semester was hard for me to juggle school and blogging – I was overloading with classes and trying to successfully graduate with a minor and double major.

    I tend to not schedule my posts either since it was hard enough for me to get out two full posts a week as it was, so what I would do this semester was continuously work on posts throughout the week whenever I had a short break. This would be in between classes, during my lunch breaks, before I went to bed, and during unimportant meetings. That being said, there have been many times where I would just become too busy and just be unable to post more than one post a week. And that’s fine! Even if I posted once a month, the book blogging community is very supportive, and everyone knows that real life should come first.

    I loved this post, Liam! Thank you for sharing your own experiences. It gave me some food for thought as well! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree that the book blogging community has been so reassuring and understanding of busy lives so that when you post that post for the first time in a couple of weeks it’s like you never left. It’s really comforting and allows me not to stress too much that people will become bored and leave.
      Your schedule sounds even busier than mine. I’m impressed with your dedication. I’ll definitely try to make the most of my time and blog whenever I get a small chance to work and ensure that I keep track of my ideas and everything else.
      Thanks so much for your help, Jorelene! I can relate so much to your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I totally understand what your talking about! For a long time, I only blogged when “I had time” which honestly, I had the time just didn’t use it right. At the beginning of this year, I used a journal to plan and write the blogs posts ahead of time. That way, I can bring the journal with me wherever and not forget my ideas while running around everywhere. I try not to set due dates for posts but instead “due weeks”. So instead of having the posts due on one specific day, and getting stressed about it if I miss it, I schedule posts for a week and post anytime during that week. Now that I have more followers and traffic, its easier for me to keep posting regularly instead of just randomly. I don’t think I’ll get to the point where I post every day but you never know.

    Great post! There were some great thoughts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can relate so much! I feel like when I have the time I don’t use it effectively enough. I love the idea of making posts due in a certain week. That takes the pressure off so much. I might steal that! I had a journal that I used at the start of the year to keep track of posts I wanted to schedule but then I got too far behind. Maybe I should revisit it with more determination to stick by it.
      These were some great ideas. Thanks for your help and advice! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Hi Liam, I’m a new follower. I found your blog through a blogger friend, and this is a terrific post. When an idea comes to me, I create a draft post, write whatever I think of at the time, and then save it. I post approximately 5-10 times per week, depending on my schedule, but that’s how I manage so many posts with a full-time job and deadlines from my editor. And when I feel inspiration to finish one of them, it’s already in my WP dashboard. I also keep a blog journal. That helps me flesh everything out and stay organized.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment and for following my blog! As you can tell from the post I’ve been really busy recently and haven’t been able to respond to comments so sorry about that. I do a similar thing when I have ideas and create drafts too but I think I need to work on gradually building those ideas into active posts. Wow! You blog so much! That’s seriously impressive. Thanks for your advice, I’m definitely thinking of starting a diary/journal for my blog, I think it would help a lot. 🙂

      Like

  13. Dude same! that is sooo cool though im also a very musical person, I play the clarinet and life is hard trying to juggle band with wind ensembles and orchestras outside of school? I’m curious? what do you play? I have been feeling super guilty at being so sporadic too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So sorry for the late reply! The post was literally me trying to say that I’m so busy as of late. Thanks for your comment. I play the clarinet too! As well as flute and piano so yeah, I’m busy. Juggling ensembles can be hard and they take up time but I do love playing music so it’s not a chore. I hope you’ve found peace with your blogging schedule. Sorry again for the lateness!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. About June of last year, I unintentionally “left” the blogosphere and pursued more important agendas in my life around that time: finishing high school. And it wasn’t just blogging that was at stake when I made my decision – also reading! I went from reading 14 books a month to none at all. But I don’t regret my decision because now, I’m a high school graduate! 🙂

    I guess the best tip I can give you – coming from a student to a fellow student – is to really set your priorities. There’s a time for blogging and there’s a time for living outside of the internet. Both sides require lots of sacrifices but in the end they can be rewarding. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apologies for such a late reply. My post was me trying to give notice for upcoming busyness. Thanks for your comment. Student life is jam-packed for sure. I’m definitely trying to sort out my pirorities and focus on school during this exam period. I’ve definitely had to sacrifice reading too but hopefully it’s all worth it. I hope you’ve found your balance too!

      Like

    1. I’m so sorry. I literally don’t have a minute to spare any more because of exams. I promise I’ll respond ASAP (I can’t even commit to a time…I suck). Hope you’re doing well! I’m not changing, just doing my own thing hopefully. :))

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I’m getting to this post quite late, but I feel like I should comment just to let you know it’s completely okay to go on hiatus or not schedule posts. I’ve actually never scheduled a post, and I have zero organization skills. I pretty much blog on a whim: when I have a idea, I’ll write a post. But I’ve also compared myself a lot to super organized bloggers, so I know exactly where this insecurity might come from.
    I wish you all the best in your exams! Your schedule sounds INSANE. I don’t know how you manage. I’d have probably given up on blogging because that is so overwhelming.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Writing this post has definitely made me realise that all bloggers are, at the end of the day, human begins with lives and we all do the best we can. There’s no one specific way of managing a blog so there’s no need to compare. I think I’m gradually learning to love my ‘blogging on a whim’ structure, I hope you have too!
      Thanks for the best wishes 🙂 My exams are now finished and I’m very happy. I probably would’ve given up too but books mean so much to me #nerdalert. All us bloggers are here to support you if you need it!!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Oh my goodness, I’m so glad I’ve found someone who feels the same about blogging as I do! I’ve never scheduled a post in my life, I’ve never been able to keep up with a set amount of posts per week, and I took a few months off of blogging only to come back and then take another month-long hiatus. I don’t know if it’s the same way for you, but I find if I try to schedule or micromanage my blogging habits too much it takes the fun out of it and becomes more like a job than a hobby. I think it’s best to approach blogging in a relaxed way, as that assures you’re only writing content you feel good about. I’m really glad you wrote a discussion post about this though, it gets the point out that there are all different kinds of bloggers and that you don’t have to conform to any set mold. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it all comes down learning to be proud of your blog and the individual way you choose to manage it. If your thing is posting on a whim then that’s your thing. I think I’m definitely becoming more comfortable in that, I hope you do too! I feel the same way as you in that I’m pressured if I schedule all the time so being free is what suits me. Thank you for the support, I’m so glad I shared all my feelings to the blogosphere! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

