Reviews

Book Review – Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Hi everyone!

One of the most hyped up books of 2015 Red Queen got its sequel this year and the buzz was expectedly large. Some hated it, some were let down by it, some loved it. I was interested to see where I would fit in after really enjoying the first instalment.

Let’s talk Glass Sword!


Glass SwordAuthor: Victoria Aveyard

Genre: Young adult fantasy

Paperback: 440 pages

Published: Harper Teen, Febraury 2016

Series: Red Queen #2


*No synopsis due to spoilers however, the review is spoiler free.*

Review:

Well, well. What a surprise! My expectations were quite low going into Glass Sword. I’d heard all manner of negative things about the quality of it. But I think these expectations made me like this book more than I thought I would.  Let’s break it all down.

Because I decided to not re-read Red Queen before jumping into Glass Sword, the beginning was very much me trying to familiarise myself with the story and the characters again. This took a little bit of time considering how quickly the book jumps into the action. I often had to wrack my brains to remember all the events of the previous book, especially that dramatic ending. And by the time I found myself getting comfortable with the story, it had already begun to slow down.

I will admit that the first quarter or so of the book (excluding the beginning) was a little uninteresting and is mainly just our main character dealing with all that happened in the previous novel. However soon the plot starts to get going and I really enjoyed the direction it took. I love the recruitment scenes in the middle of the book that developed tension really well, ensuring the reader felt on edge along with all of our main characters. Then it transitioned perfectly into the climax of the story which had me putting the book down for fear of what was to happen next.

I thought the introduction of all the new secondary characters was so great. We got to see some new faces and personalities (not to mention abilities) that made the plot that much more enjoyable. I also really liked the team dynamic within the new group and thought that all the agitation and friendships were both believable and sweet.

Mare, as a main character, made me feel very conflicted in this book. On one hand, I thought her development was really great and I liked the way she became more firm and leader-like. However, on the other hand, she made some really poor decisions and mistakes that she should have learned from by now which frustrated me a bit. I’m not sure…she’s become even more so like Katniss Everdeen.

I adored all our main male characters in this book. Shade was so amazing and so darn cute, Cal was the common sense/level-headed side to Mare that she desperately needed and Kilorn actually became tolerable. (My god, how I hated him in Red Queen). So well done for doing the impossible Victoria Aveyard!

The world developed so much in this book which was one thing that I said I wanted after the first book. We got to see so many more interesting places to understand the Red and Silver lay of the land. Really great. Buuuuuut, we needed a map badly!! I had no idea where places were in relation to one another and I think the inclusion of a map would have added so much to the book.

The writing was where my main concern lied. While I do think that Glass Sword is a little less like other YA books compared to Red Queen, there were still a few similarities in the writing that made me stop and think. Particularly little gestures or dialogue lines. I also thought that Aveyard repeated what Mare was thinking over and over again until it got asinine. Like, I understood the first time that she was lonely and broken and ‘poor me’ blah blah blah, you don’t need to tell me 15 times over the course of the novel! Lastly, I feel like Aveyard could have done a lot more explaining. Her description was fine but she never really allowed to reader to get the full grasp of things. For example the Choke. I need to know more about what it’s all about!

Ultimately though, the negativities didn’t detract from the story especially that ending! I had to put the book down and ask myself what just happened. That escape from the prison nearly made me scream! And then the very last chapter did too. Ugh give me book three please thank you 🙂

Overall, a good continuation to the series. Not quite as good as Red Queen but good development and an ending to leave you begging for more. Characters that really grow on you and a plot that keeps you turning the pages.

I gave Glass Sword: *3.75 Stars*

4-stars


If any of you have read this book, let me know what you thought. Do you agree with me or not? Or have I convinced any of you to give this series a go? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83      Goodreads: Liamo’d       Instagram: @liamslibrary

18 thoughts on “Book Review – Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Great review, as always, Liam. I CANNOT RAGE ENOUGH FOR THE ABSENCE OF THE MAP. LIKE, WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO DO TO US?

    I felt that Glass Sword suffered a huge bout of “Second Book Syndrome” in a trilogy which is quite saddening. I had such high hopes before reading it. ESPECIALLY after the ending of Red Queen.

    What I liked was that Mare didn’t go on a “woe is me” parade, as if she couldn’t annoy me any further. But yes, I am invested in this trilogy and I plan to finish it.

    Like

    1. YES! It would have helped sooo much! There was no sense of geography within me. Hmm it wasn’t as good as Red Queen but it wasn’t too bad at all. Really? I felt like Mare was pretty whingy in this book? I agree that she became stronger though. (The bit in the prison with the guards that she electrocuted…just wow). On Goodreads it says there is fourth book. Do you know anything about this? Anyway, looking forward to book 3. Thanks Kevin!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Who knows these days? There are so many books I’ve looked at where I thought it was a standalone and then I find out it’s a trilogy and I get so annoyed. If it’s successful there going to milk it for all it’s worth.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it surpassed my expectations for sure. I see where you’re coming from though, Mare was a little whingy at times. Haha I’m terrible at geography in the first place, so not having a map had me grappling for a sense of places. Will you be reading the third book?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right? These endings are not ok for my health. And the ending to the prison scene had me screaming WTF! I’m hoping for Mare to get better too, at the same time I like how she’s kind of morally grey.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yay Glass Sword was great! I took a look at your review and I totally agree with your point that the writing wasn’t super memorable. I enjoyed it at the time but before starting it, I barely could recall what happened in Red Queen. I feel like the same is going to happen with book three. Oh well, I’m still excited 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

