Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Recent Five Star Reads

Hi everyone!

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list feature created over at The Broke and the Bookish. It’s a fun weekly feature and a good way to meet other bloggers. The topics are always interesting too!

This week’s topic asks us to talk about some of our most recent five star books. I’m worried about how far back I’ll have to go to find those ten as my rating system has recently become harsher (you know what, I’m just gonna put a few 4.5’s in there) but I love highlighting some favourites so let’s do it.

1. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdiehthe wrath and the dawn

This is actually the most recent book that I’ve read. I’m so in love with it. It was so immersive and I still think about it all the time. Everything about this book is beautiful. Writing, characters, plot…an absolutely stunning debut.

2. Opal by Jennifer L. Armentroutopal

This was a 4.5 star book for me but nevertheless I loved it. Definitely the strongest novel in the series so far. Armentrout really stepped it up a couple of notches and I felt the story improved particularly in this one. Character development was also very well done.

3. Hopeless by Colleen Hooverhopeless

Another 4.5 star read. I’m so happy I gave Hoover another chance after some very disappointing experiences with her writing. This book was so addicting and is one of only a few books to make me cry. I was so attached to the characters and even though they sometimes frustrated me, their story stayed with me for a long time after finishing.

4. Dance With the Devil by Sherrilyn Kenyondance with the devil

A total guilty pleasure read…and I couldn’t help but love it. The main male character was one of my favourite characters in the series and his story was equally hopeful and heartwarming. The romance was different to any other and the dynamic of it was so cute.

 5. Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor 12812550

I gave this one 4.5 stars. This was a fantastic ‘growing’ book. The world, characters and stakes all intensified so well. It also included some fantastic themes that are so relevant to modern society. Karou and Akiva began to blossom and I just genuinely loved reading their story.

6. The Book Of Ivy by Amy Engel 20640755

I loved this book more so the second time around. It’s a book you don’t know you have to have in your life until you’ve absolutely devoured it. The character development is truly marvelous and the plot keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. I couldn’t help but get so emotionally attached to everything.

7 and 8. Crown of Midnight and Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas 18006496

Some of my favourite books of 2015 and QoS is one of my favourites of all time. The characters are so great and amazingly developed and the world is so imaginative, everything I want in a fantasy. QoS brought an exponentially bigger scale to the table. I can’t wait for book 5.

9. Salt and Stone by Victoria Scott IMG_2447

As brilliant as the first. These books just ooze action and adventure and whenever I’m reading them I can’t get enough. You can’t help but love the characters and their witty dialogue. Plus they have Pandora animals!!

10. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte 6377168

Whenever I try to think critically about this book I get swept away in it all. I love almost all the characters to death and I never want the story to end because of how much I was attached to them. And the romance and the Mr Rochester and the mystery of the house, all of it was spectacular.


I had to go all the way back to August 2015 to find books that were five star reads! I need to read more amazing books obviously.

Did any of you rate these books five stars? What are some of your recent five star worthy books? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83   Goodreads: Liamo’d   Instagram: @liamslibrary

 

 

 

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Recent Five Star Reads

  1. ooh, this reminds me that I need to read Salt & Stone! SOMEDAY. *glares at huge TBR pile* Oh oh and I looooved The Wrath and the Dawn! I read it last year, but I defintiely gave it 5-stars and cannot WAIT for the sequel. 😀 My most recent 5-star read was Gathering of Shadows by VE Schwab. Omggg, that author is amazing.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

    1. Ugh how can you wait after the ending to Fire & Flood? The tension was so real! I’m actually devastated that there’s not going to be a third book to wrap the series up. YAS The Wrath and the Dawn is so amazing. I can’t wait for book two either!! I still haven’t read a VE Schwab book, I know, I’m horrible. But I’ll try and fix that very soon. 🙂

      Like

    1. Yes in general I loved the DOSAB trilogy (book 3 was a bit of a let down for me) but I thought it was so creative and well-written. Enjoy Lux, I’ve just finished book four and taking a break before Opposition. I’m so excited to see how it all ends!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It definitely was creative! My favorie out of the trilogy was the first book though, then book three and close after that book two. Thank you! Have you read Oblivion too/do you plan on reading it? Enjoy Opposition 🙂

        Like

  2. I definitely need to give the Lux series a re-read. The characters in it are really great, can’t wait to fall in love with them again! This also reminds me I should probably finish The Wrath and the Dawn… I’ve only been trying to read it for half a year or so 😄

    Like

    1. Hmm well, to be honest, I loved Lux the first time around quite a bit more. When re-reading it, I found it didn’t have the same magic. Maybe that’s just me. The characters are really great! YES, get to TWATD right now!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I just read the Wrath and the Dawn and really enjoyed it. It wasn’t a 5 star for me (I wanted Khalid and Shazi to sort of become more friends before they started being love interests) BUT the writing was sooo beautiful, and I’m curious about book 2. Great list, Liam!

    Like

  4. Yaaas for TWATD! I gave that five stars too but I’ve been mentioning it way, WAY too much so I kept it out of my TTT this week, but I completely agree with your comment. It’s absolutely stunning, and I’m excited for the sequel — coming soon!

    And I’m real happy to see Sherrilyn Kenyon. Her Dark Hunter series was a total guilty pleasure to me; I think there was a whole month in which I just dedicated myself to reading novel by novel, haha.

    Here’s my list if you’re curious. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yay another fellow TWATD fangirl! It’s so wonderful. I fear I talk about my favourite books too much in general. Oh well, I can’t help it! Yes Kenyon’s books are not super well-known so that’s great to hear from someone else who’s read her books. I only read the first three and I think I’m stopping there but they were a heap of fun. I love series marathons so much 🙂 I’ll check out your list right away. Thanks!

      Like

    1. I agree about your Colleen Hoover comment. Personally I think some of her other books are awful. But not Hopeless, it was so moving! Get on QoS right now!! It’s fantastic. Laini Taylor’s writing was so great, it definitely made the story even better. I’ll check out your list right away! Thanks 🙂

      Like

    1. Haha isn’t that the truth for all of the book blogs? Just constantly adding new books to one’s enormous TBR pile. But I wouldn’t have it any other way! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll be sure to check out your post right away 🙂

      Like

  5. Hopeless is the one Colleen Hoover book I’ve read and love but sadly I don’t really fancy picking up her other books. Days of Blood and Starlight is my favourite book in the trilogy. It’s just so raw and emotional and I love the development of both Akiva and Karou’s characters.

    Like

    1. Yes I totally agree. Some of the things I’ve heard about Colleen’s other books sound less than agreeable to me. Bit of a shame…Oh for sure! I liked Daughter, but loved Days (though I ended up a little disappointed by Dreams). Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel like Dreams got lost in it’s purpose and instead of focusing on the hope in Karou and Akiva’s dream the focus shifted to new plot points that were never really addressed in the previous two books. I didn’t care much for Eliza or the Stelians.

        Like

      2. Oh yeah, 100%. I wasn’t a fan of the random Stelian plotline either. She didn’t leave enough time to explain everything so I found it a little confusing. Oh well, it was a good series overall.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. aha, so many of these I have not yet read but want to get to soon! However, I did read QoS and I loved it so hard – I agree, the characters have evolved greatly and the world just keeps getting better as we explore it more *aggressively waits for next book*

    Like

    1. Haha always so many books to keep up with. Hope you enjoy all these amazing books! Totally agree about QoS. I can’t get over how far the series has come from ToG to now. I’m impatiently waiting for Empire of Storms right along with you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ugh, I used to think that my TBR would decrease as time went by but of course I was wrong 😄

        Yes! Empire of Storms! When I first heard the name I think I must have looked like a maniac running out of air – I’m so excited 🙂

        Like

  7. Ah, I can’t wait to start reading Days of Blood and Starlight! I LOVED the first book! I’ll have to shamefully admit that I have yet to start reading the Throne of Glass series though. Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

