Recommendations

Liam’s Library Recommends: Underrated Books

Hi everyone!

Today I’ve decided to do another recommendations post to continue this mini-series.

As readers I’m sure you know how important book recommendations are to find that next favourite you never would’ve picked up if it wasn’t for a suggestion from someone.

This time, the theme won’t be a specific genre. Instead I’ll be talking about some books I love but I believe to be underrated. Hopefully I can convince some of you guys to give them a go and spread the word! Let’s do it.

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

unearthly

‘In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees…
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.’

This was one of the first young adult books series that I read. While everyone else was reading Twilight, I was reading Unearthly. It’s an angel book, yes, but it’s done really well. What I love about it is that family and friends play a huge role in the story and the themes actually make you think. If you want to revisit the paranormal phase of YA lit, definitely check this series out.

Gone by Michael Grant

gone

‘In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young.
There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what’s happened.’

This book is absolute insanity…and I love it! Super fast paced and action packed, this series is one of the most imaginative you will ever read. There are mutants, monsters and maniacs but also romance, friendship and the classic good vs evil storyline that will keep you turning the pages. Give it a go even if it sounds a bit too crazy for you, I know I did.

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

‘What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test.’

These books are so much fun and a bit of a guilty pleasure read. If you ignore the terrible cover I’m sure you’ll find yourself hooked and wanting to know what happens next and just slightly obsessed with the main male character. Okay slightly might be too light a word…

Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

18628138

‘An epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win Tella the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.’

I cannot believe how few people have read this book. It’s awesome. It’s a mixture between Pokemon and The Hunger Games, what’s not to like? The main character is kick-butt and the action is sooo good. Please try this one, you won’t regret it!

The Book Of Ivy by Amy Engel

20640755‘After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn. My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son.’

I’ve talked about this book a lot on my blog. I just need everyone to read it. It’s a simple story but the characters are really well done and the tension is so real. I mean, an assassination story? Come on people!

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

7893725

‘Five months ago, Valerie Leftman’s boyfriend, Nick, opened fire on their school cafeteria. Shot trying to stop him, Valerie inadvertently saved the life of a classmate, but was implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. A list of people and things she and Nick hated. The list he used to pick his targets.’

This book discusses such an important topic in a really good way and with really good underlying themes and messages. The writing isn’t amazing but I honestly think the story and its construction makes up for it. Books like these aren’t talked about enough and they should be.


I could go on and on about books that I think should get more notice but I’ll stop it there for now. Maybe I could do a part two for this list?

Let me know if you have read any of these books in the comments. Do you agree that these are underrated? Have I convinced any of you to give any of them a go? Should I do a part 2 for this?

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83      Goodreads: Liamo’d       Instagram: @liamslibrary

 

 

25 thoughts on “Liam’s Library Recommends: Underrated Books

  1. I loved Unearthly! I do think it’s underrated which is insane, considering how few well-written angel YA I’ve come across. I haven’t finished trilogy though. But I’m hoping to do so soon! Great post as always, Liam. 😊

    Like

    1. thankyou.
      It’s one of those books that people have read but no one really talks about. I tried reading one of Grant’s other books and it was nowhere near as good. Gone is the one true shiz. TRY IT!

      Like

  2. I totally agree about the Hate List. It wasn’t the GREATEST book in the world, but I thought it was well-executed, especially since the topic at hand is so difficult and sensitive. It was so refreshing (and eye-opening) to see the topic discussed from the point of view of a person who was very close to the shooter. If you’re interested in these types of books, I’d definitely suggest reading Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult. It was so, so great!

    Like

    1. Yes, 100% agree. It’s such an important topic and it might sound bad, but really interesting for someone who doesn’t live in the US to read about it. I especially loved all the flashback scenes. I’ll be sure to check out those recommendations. Thanks for that!

      Like

  3. If you’re into fantasy and assassination stories, check out In Cold Blood by Joe Abercrombie. It’s absolutely mental from start to finish. It’s very long but it works kind of like an assassins creed game with target after target leading up to the big prize.

    Like

Leave a Reply

