Wrap-Ups

January Wrap-Up | 2016

Hi everyone!

I can’t believe the first month of 2016 is over. I swear I was celebrating the new year yesterday. But we all know how fast time can fly.

Like usual, I started off pretty well in terms of my reading in the first month of the year. 2015’s January was also my best reading month, I think this January will be too.

Today I’ll be showing and sharing all the books that I read this month.

1. Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor  12812550

I did a full review of this one which you can see here if you’d like. In general though, I thought this was an excellent continuation to the series and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

2. Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor  13618440

I was very let down by the final novel in this trilogy. There were so many last-minute additions and confusing parts that I did not like. Again, to see my full thoughts, see my review here.

3. Night Pleasures, Night Embrace and Dance With the Devil by Sherrilyn Kenyon  night pleasures

I decided to check this urban paranormal fantasy series out upon the recommendation of a friend and I became just a teensy bit obsessed. They weren’t even amazing (ok they were really, really good), just so addicting. They all follow the same sort of format which makes them a bit too predictable but they still hold their own twists and turns and cool battle scenes. The characters were all so unique. My favourite was the third, Dance With the DevilCheck them out!

4. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon  everything everything

This was so cute and amazing and I was loving it. Olly was perfection and all the scenes were adding so well to the story, it kept me flipping those pages..and then the ending happened. Ok, it wasn’t bad and I can live and accept it but I just wasn’t the biggest fan. I still ended up giving this book four stars, after all, I did read it in one sitting.

5. Hopeless by Colleen Hoover  hopeless

This was probably my second favourite book of the month behind Dance With the Devil. If you read my Unpopular Opinions post, you know that I absolutely hated Slammed and Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover and mentioned that Hopeless would be CoHo’s last chance with me. Good news, I really, really liked this book. The only reason it got four stars (because otherwise it was amazing) was because the male character was too perfect and because this book made me cry DEPRESSED tears. This is not a book to be taken lightly. My god, it hits you hard!

6. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout  obsidian

I am re-reading and finally finishing this series. These book are so much fun and I adore all the characters. However, there’s something about them that I’m not enjoying as much as the first time around. I dropped this book from five stars to four. But I’m having a fun time!

7. Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout  onyx

Of course, I continued on with the series and completed book two. This one is a bit better in my opinion. I like how the plot expands into so much more and the intensity levels hit a high. Again though, I dropped this book to a 4.5 rating from the original 5.


Those are all the books that I read in January. Not a bad start to the year both quality and quantity-wise.

What books did you read in January? Any new favourites? Have any of you read any of these books, if so, what did you think? Let me know! 

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83      Goodreads: Liamo’d       Instagram: @liamslibrary

 

20 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up | 2016

  1. The ending for Everything Everything was pretty annoying. I kind of liked it but I kind of felt like it would’ve been more interesting if it didn’t happen. LOL does that even makes sense 😄

    Like

      1. Maybe, the difference is that I’ve read all the books. But maybe this happens to me with the Shatter Me Trilogy, I’ve waited so long to read the third one that I’m going to reread the first and second one. I don’t know how that will go but I need to remember before reading Ignite Me

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That could be true. I might absolutely love the books that I haven’t read yet. Ignite Me (but really the whole trilogy) is my favourite book after the Harry Potter series so I hope you enjoy the series! It would be hard not to. Good luck!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, disappointed to hear DoGaM was such a let-down. I’ll definitely have to check out Sherrilyn Kenyon’s stuff, though! I’ve been needing a new urban paranormal series to dip a toe into. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

