Discussion · Lists

Unpopular Opinions

Hi everyone!

I’m one for sharing feelings. Especially when it comes to books. You know this.

This year I’ve made it my goal to express my bookish feelings no matter if they’re good or bad. Even if I sometimes read people’s posts who do this and think ‘how could you not like_____?’ I think that sharing unpopular opinions is good and therapeutic in a way. You’re letting people know that not everyone has to like or dislike the same things.

Now, this post will sort of follow the structure of the Unpopular Opinions book tag but I may go a little further, we’ll see.

Just a reminder: these are my personal feelings and points of view, we may not agree and I’m certainly not attacking any of the books here, but I’m sure we can respect each other’s differences.

A popular book or series that you do not like.

  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • The Fault in Our Stars and Paper Towns by John Green
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

(None of these are hated by all but there’s a considerably large amount of negative reviews).

  • Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard
  • Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed by E. L. James. (The hate is so huge and these two were actually good!)
  • The Luxe series by Anna Godberson
  • Gone series by Michael Grant

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn people for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

SPOILERS FOR UNEARTHLY BY CYNTHIA HAND 

  • Feyre and Rhysand – A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • Chaol and Celaena – Throne of Glass
  • Clara and Tucker – Unearthly (wanted Christian as endgame)

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

  • Young Adult contemporary
  • Dystopian

A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

  • Alina from Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (grew to dislike over books 2 and 3).
  • Nehemia and Chaol from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

  • Colleen Hoover. In my opinion (don’t hate me) but her books are awful. I tried reading Slammed and Ugly Love-years apart-and both times I DNF’d both books. I’m giving her one last chance with Hopeless.
  • John Green. I haven’t really liked any of his books. Looking For Alaska was okay.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples lost princess, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Unrealistic, terrible dialogue between male characters. It’s not really a trope but for some reason authors think that boys/men all talk to each other really perversely and saying ‘dude’ and insulting each other. And that all men are macho and overtly sexual and are attractive and have muscles…Sorry, there’s a little bit of an annoyance build up there. Like…no we don’t talk like that. STOP.

A popular book/series that you have no interest in reading.

  • Illuminae by Meagan Spooner and Jay Kristoff
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare
  • Half Bad trilogy by Sally Green

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

(Quite a few actually)

  • The Vampire Diaries
  • Silver Linings Playbook
  • The Fault in Our Stars
  • Mockingjay
  • Fifty Shades of Grey
  • The Maze Runner

So those are my unpopular opinions. Feel free to share yours in the comments. For some reason I like hearing people’s unpopular opinions. Plus, it’s kind of nice to get it all out there. (Unless it’s about Harry Potter, then don’t bother). Just kidding (*cough*), you can share…

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83      Goodreads: Liamo’d       Instagram: @liamslibrary

 

31 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions

  1. OMFG YES CHAOL! I don’t get why people love him so much he’s a pretty dull character. I spent most of the first and second book hoping she would end up with Dorian but nup, she went with Chaol. It also doesn’t help that his name is pronounced kale like what is that name?? Ok, I’m being nit picky I’ll stop 😄

    Like

    1. I love all these similarities we keep finding! I only read the first two VD books I think so I guess I can’t speak for it too much and I haven’t read any Secret Circle but the show is great. (Still on season four because I got spoiled and never continued.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think we talked about this…or maybe not but thanks! Someone who doesn’t like Nehemia, I almost felt like the only one. I’ve only read The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, a long time ago, and I liked it but I don’t think I’ll ever read something more by him. I like the Fifty Shades books, and as you said the second and third one are better than the first one but I like them. I’ve heard great things about the Half Bad trilogy but being honest, I don’t think I’ll ever read it and I don’t feel like I need to.
    Loved reading your answers to this! 😀

    Like

    1. Yes I remember us talking about Nehemia. I couldn’t understand the love. Many of the other John Green books-I realise now after reading them-are not as popular as TFIOS and have actually quite mixed reviews. OMG really? I didn’t think a person existed who didn’t mind the Fifty Shades books, yes books two and three were better.
      Trust me, you’re not missing out with Half Bad. Ugh.
      Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the Gone series by Michael Grant, too! I actually got to meet Michael Grant a few years ago when he went on tour with his book, BZRK– he’s such a cool guy! I’m always surprised that the Gone series isn’t more popular, because it’s a super interesting, action-packed, and exciting story. It’s nice to know there’s another fan out there in the blogosphere!

    Like

    1. Yes! It was actually one of the first series that I got really addicted to and kept up with. They were so weird but wonderful! All of that is so true, I can’t understand why they aren’t that popular. Likewise, glad there’s another fan!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I read the first mortal instruments book and it was an effort to finish, I didn’t have any interest in reading that series after I read the first book😒 also for john green, I have to say I’ve always loved paper towns, it was easy and romantic, but I have to say that most of his other ones I felt never really reached the bar I set paper towns at. So I was pretty dissapointed with the other ones ESPECIALLY an abundance of Kathryn’s

    Like

    1. Interesting to hear about your experience with John Green. Not many people liked a book that wasn’t TFIOS and didn’t like the others. I haven’t even bothered with An Abundance of Katherines after all the pretty bad reviews.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I hated Maze Runner too! I barely made it through the first book and DNF the second. I really like the movies though.
    I absolutely adored the LUXE and Gone series’s. I thought they were great and I don’t understand why so many people didn’t like them

    Like

  6. OMG someone understand my sentiments! I didn’t enjoy any John Green either. In fact, I had more emotions on the movie than the book (TFIOS). And UGH, Alina! I never really wanted her especially when she was turned into this girl everybody was crushing on.

    But well, to each his/her own, yeah? 🙂

    Like

    1. Haha we sound like twinsies! Yes, the movie of TFIOS got me much more emotional. Alina wasn’t a very likable character at all and then when she ended up with Mal I just lost all care. Oh well, definitely each to their own 🙂

      Like

  7. I loved the Silver Linings Playbook book a lot but the film was so much better. I just seemed to flow better and the ending to the film was a lot better than the ending too the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

