Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books Recently Added To My TBR

Hi everyone!

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list feature created over at The Broke and the Bookish. It’s a fun weekly feature and a good way to meet other bloggers. The topics are always interesting too!

Today’s topic asks us to talk about the most recent additions to our TBRs. I’m always adding books to my TBR (it’s a problem, bookworms), new releases, books I get as recommendations to me, books I hear rave reviews about on the interwebs. All this combines to create a ridiculously large pile of books to get through. Though it can be stressful, I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Let’s discuss our TBR book piles.

10. Anything Could Happen by Will Walton  

anything could happen

Tretch is in love with his straight best friend, and the problem with living a lie is that the lie can slowly become your life. His family has no idea who he really is and what he’s really thinking. The girl at the local bookstore has no clue how off-base her crush on him is. And the guy at school who’s a thorn in Tretch’s side doesn’t realize how close to the truth he’s hitting.

Tretch has spent a lot of time dancing alone in his room, but now he’s got to step outside his comfort zone and into the wider world. Because like love, a true self can rarely be contained.

I actually heard about this book when I was on Shelumiel @Bookish And Awesome‘s Instagram account and he posted a quote from this book that mentioned Taylor Swift. That’s literally it, I needed this book in my life after that. Justified, I think?

9. Written in Red by Anne Bishop  

written in red

As a blood prophet, Meg Corbyn can see the future when her skin is cut—a gift that feels more like a curse. Meg’s Controller keeps her enslaved so he can have full access to her visions. But when she escapes, the only safe place Meg can hide is in a business district operated by the Others.

Shape-shifter Simon Wolfgard is reluctant to hire the stranger who inquires about the Human Liaison job. First, he senses she’s keeping a secret, and second, she doesn’t smell like human prey. Yet a stronger instinct propels him to give Meg the job. And when he learns the truth about Meg and that she’s wanted by the government, he’ll have to decide if she’s worth the fight between humans and the Others that will surely follow.

In my recent book haul I talked about how I wanted to get more into urban fantasy/paranormal and I got a lovely recommendation from Karine @Bookshelf Dreaming. Doesn’t this book sound so good?!

8. The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons  

the bronze horseman

During the summer of 1941 the Metanov family are living a hard life in Leningrad. As the German armies advance their future looks bleak. For Tatiana, love arrives in the guise of Alexander, who harbours a deadly and extraordinary secret.

This book is a historical romance, another genre that I want to get more into. I heard about it on Youtube actually and the really high Goodreads reviews cemented my need to read this.

7. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin  

wolf by wolf

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.

Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler.

This book has been on my radar for a little while now but I’d never taken an extreme interest until I’d heard such good things from people like Josephine @Josie’s Book Corner and Summer @Xingsings. Their reviews and the amazing premise sold me.

6. Killing Sarai by J. A. Redmerski  

killing sarai

Victor is a cold-blooded assassin who, like Sarai, has known only death and violence since he was a young boy. When Victor arrives at the compound to collect details and payment for a hit, Sarai sees him as her only opportunity for escape. But things don’t go as planned and instead of finding transport back to Tucson, she finds herself free from one dangerous man and caught in the clutches of another.

I heard about this book from Ginger Reads Lainey on Booktube. It’s about a group of assassins so obviously yeah, count me in!

5. Pretty Girl – 13 by Liz Coley  

pretty girl 13

Pretty Girl-13 is a disturbing and powerful psychological thriller about a girl who must piece together the story of her kidnapping and captivity and then piece together her own identity.

I’m a sucker for a good psychological thriller, especially ones that play with memories. I heard about this from a Booktuber yet again, Aprilius Maximus. Mysteries always go down well with me so I’m expecting good things.

4. Stray by Rachel Vincent 

stray

There are only eight breeding female werecats left…

And I’m one of them.

I look like an all-American grad student. But I am a werecat, a shape-shifter, and I live in two worlds.

This is another book that is a part of my urban fantasy exploration. Heard about this series from Ginger Reads Lainey once again. It sounds a little bit cheesy but I’ve been assured that it’s a good series. I’ll have to see for myself soon.

3. The Girl in 6E by A. R. Torre  

the girl in 6E

I haven’t touched a human in three years. That seems like it would be a difficult task, but it’s not. Not anymore, thanks to the internet.

What if you hid yourself away because all you could think of was killing? And what if one girl’s life depending on you venturing into society?

The synopsis for this book literally stunned me. It was such a weirdly intriguing idea and I knew I just had to read it. Haven’t heard a lot about this one but I’m definitely sucked in to everything about it.

2. Trick by Natalia Jaster  

trick

In the kingdom of Whimtany, Poet is renowned. He’s young and pretty, a lover of men and women. He performs for the court, kisses like a scoundrel, and mocks with a silver tongue.

Yet allow him this: It’s only the most cunning, most manipulative soul who can play the fool. For Poet guards a secret. One the Crown would shackle him for. One that he’ll risk everything to protect.

I found out about this book from a subscription box. Someone unboxed it on Youtube, talked about it and I knew I just had to have it. A young adult, fantasy-romance about jesters? That’s so original! I’m excited!

1. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard  

Truthwitch

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

I’m sure you’ve all heard about this book. I was interested because of the summary that I heard a little while ago though i must admit I wasn’t expecting it to be much good. So I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the positive reviews coming out. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one.


So those are the most recent additions to my TBR. So many books, so little time am I right?

What are the books that you most recently added to your TBR? Do we have any books in common? Have you read any of these books? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83   Goodreads: Liamo’d   Instagram: @liamslibrary

44 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Recently Added To My TBR

  1. Wolf By Wolf, YES! The blurb is really intriguing, need to read it soon. I’ve never heard of Trick before this but it’s going straight to the top of my TBR now. Thank you so much for the great list 😀

    Like

      1. Yep, definitely! Written in Red seems like immediate-TBR material, and Killing Sarai and Trick sound very interesting too. I’m glad I got to know about them, thanks a lot, Liam! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So many good books!! Written in Red is in my TBR too. I’ve heard great things about it so I think I’ll read it soon! The Bronze Horseman, other book I’ve heard great things about and I want to read. Wolf by Wolf lately has been everywhere and I have heard great things about it all times (it’s in my TBR too). You NEED to read Killing Sarai, I’m letting my fangirl talk here. I love that series. It’s just so good! I love it! And I’ll be re-reading it soon, because I don’t remember everything and I have the 5 book to read plus book 6 can be out anytime soon. Stray was the first book I read this year and I really enjoyed it! I need to continue that series and I definitely want to read more of that world and characters! Lastly, Truthwitch has been everywhere and is other book that everyone says is great, so I hope to read it in the future!
    Yas! So many books! 😀

    Like

  3. I have heard nothing but great things about Wolf by Wolf and I definitely plan on checking that book off my tbr list. I’ve been in the mood to read historical fiction so this sounds like my cup of tea. Truthwitch is another priority read for me. I just hope it lives up to the hype.

    Like

    1. I hope you get to all the TBR books you want this year. Pretty Girl-13 has mixed reviews but a lot of mysteries do and this one sounds really good. I’ll check out your TTT right away! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  4. YESSS. Wolf by Wolf is on here (thank you for mentioning me by the way!); I think you’ll really like it, Liam. It’s just an all around beautiful adventure. Hope you get to it sooner than later. And I’ve heard so much about The Bronze Horseman! I don’t watch a lot of booktube but I stumbled on one of Regan at Peruse Project’s videos and she mentioned that one. As for books I want to read… The Winner’s Curse trilogy is definitely high on my list right now. Oh and Six of Crows. And I want to get into some NA (and perhaps more classics?) this year since I guess I’m part of that demographic now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you think I’ll like it, that gives me even more hope! A good adventure story can’t be beaten. You’re welcome, your review was fantastic. YES! Peruse Project was where I heard of it too. She sells it. Same and same for the two books on your TBR. Six of Crows especially. Friends are begging me to read it! Oooh yay for NA, I love that genre. I hope you enjoy those newer types of books.

      Like

  5. Ya! *doing happy dance* I’m so excited that you picked written in red. I’m very nervous and excited at the same time to see what you think of it. I’ve recommended it to other people and I’ve gotten mixed reviews. I would give you my copy of the book but I’m scared to lend my ‘babies’ away. 😛
    Seeing Wolf by Wolf everywhere, but unsure about it.
    Really want to read Killing Sari and the girl in E6. Both I have but still haven’t gotten around to reading them yet.
    Recently added Sin and Suffer by Pepper Winters and Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop and the DIRE Agency series (sci-fi action. Could be interesting) to my list.

    Like

    1. Not wanting to lend your books is completely understandable. Don’t worry, I’ll get to it somehow. Thanks again for the rec, it sounds sooooo good.
      I’ve heard NOTHING but good things about WbW so if that’s anything to go by…
      Enjoy all your recent TBR additions!

      Like

      1. oh I’m going to have to get that cover of written in red to go with my collection. I currently have one of the Aussie covers hence why its well protected.
        Might see if local library have wolf by wolf and get it there

        Like

  6. I’ve got my hands on a shiny copy of Truthwitch and I can’t wait to start on it! Let’s read it together! But do I need a headstart? Are you a speed reading demon, Liam?

    Like

Leave a Reply

