Tags

The EMOJI Book Tag!

Hi everyone!

Y’all know that I love me a good tag. Today I’m doing one that I was tagged to do almost four months ago. Thank you to Joey @Thoughts and Afterthoughts for tagging me to do the Emoji Book Tag!

I think what you have to do here is just pick the emojis that you either use the most, or are just your favourites and associate a book with it. Quite open-ended if you ask me.

I’m going to go with my 5 most used. Let’s do it!


 

Grinning Face with Smiling Eyes

emoji #1Let’s start off basic. This one, to me, means happy but with a hint of grateful in there. For this one I’m just going to choose a book that I’m happy and grateful to have picked up for whatever reason. I’m going to go with Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. While other people discovered YA fiction from Twilight, I found it from Unearthly. Swept up in the paranormal and romance of it all. My mum picked it out for me when she visited the library. I never looked back.


Unamused Face

emoji #2.png

People who know me in real life say that I have a resting bitch face. Like, all the time. Even when I don’t mean too! It’s very disconcerting! Anyway, I’m choosing a book that I just thought ‘…really?’ for. Whatever that means. Therefore, On Dublin Street by Samantha Young takes the cake. Just so cliche and characters that were so unoriginal. No thank you!


Face Screaming in Fearemoji #3

I’m a drama queen. What can I say? I’m going for a book that shocked me to the core and gave me that ‘Umm…WHAT?!’ reaction us book-lovers crave. What other book besides Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas  could I choose? This book was just a roller coaster of ups and downs. Plans, character interactions, action scenes and dialogue that just left me screaming. 


Weary Face

emoji #4I don’t really associate this face with weariness, more with anguish and giving up. Just done. Even dread. For this one, I’m going with Hate List by Jennifer Brown. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this book. It’s just you can see what’s going to happen and you’re screaming at the characters to just not do or think what they think. It’s part of the reason I liked this book so much 🙂


Nail Polishing Handemoji #5

Because I’m sassy. We all know this emoji means ‘I’m better than you’. For this one I’m choosing a book that reigns supreme over all others. So of course, Harry Potter by JK Rowling. Nothing beats Harry Potter. Like…ever. #sorrynotsorry


So that was a lot of fun. I feel like I covered my feelings and let them all out.

What’s your favourite emoji and why?

I don’t really know who’s been tagged and who hasn’t but I’ll tag a few people anyway. People who aren’t tagged, feel free to do it if you wish. I tag you! Link me your post if you do, I’d love to read it! Feel free to ignore if you’re too busy or just don’t want to do it.

Kat @Life and Other Disasters

Charley @booksandbakes1

Bree @The Literary Hellion

Aldii @Perfection In Books

Anna @My Bookish Dream

Holly @Nut Free Nerd

Kayleigh @Miserable and Magical

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83   Goodreads: Liamo’d   Instagram: @liamslibrary

37 thoughts on “The EMOJI Book Tag!

  1. Yes, Harry Potter is of course the best! I loved the Hate List too, but I know what you mean about it being a bit predictable. I love your interpretations of the emojis, that was really interesting to read 🙂

    Like

    1. What else? Haha! I’m glad you liked Hate List, I feel like not many people have read it and it’s quite an important book. It was a bit weird to read what the emojis were meant to mean on websites and knowing that you weren’t using them exactly as they’re supposed to be interpreted. But people can understand my point when I use them so it doesn’t matter 😉 Thank you for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I haven’t read one single book you’ve just mentioned and that makes me question everything! o_O (and I know how embarrassing it is that I’ve never read HP … I’ve been teased about that a lot)
    But thanks so much for tagging me! I love that the Nail Polishing Hand is one of your most used emojis hahaha I’ll have to see what are my most used or recent ones!

    Like

    1. I read the start of this comment and was thinking “oh…for sure not Harry Potter,” and then read the next line and imitated the screaming face emoji. I won’t tease you but…read it! (Unless you really don’t want to.)
      You’re welcome! It’s a little embarrassing but I text my friends mostly and we get a little silly sometimes 🙂 Enjoy the tag!

      Like

      1. I know! Everyone keeps saying it, but the movies are still VERY fresh in my mind and I don’t think that’s a good idea going into the books. Also, that’s quite a commitment in time and right now I would rather spend it on new(ish) releases. But I am not saying that I’ll never get to it, just not right now.
        That’s not embarrassing at all! It’s funny and if you can’t be like that with your friends, who else is there?
        Thanks 🙂 I will!

        Like

      2. I’m sorry, you’ve probably heard it a thousand times before! I guess it’s just weird when it’s your whole childhood and some people were never introduced. I get what you mean about the movies though, it makes sense to wait a bit. It’s crazy how much more in-depth the books go though. As long as it’s still on the cards for you, I’m happy!
        Friends who don’t judge you are the best thing ever!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this tag! I definitely agree with you about Hate List. Sometimes books can be so frustrating! Now whenever I see that book I’m just going to think of that emoji haha. Thanks so much for tagging me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for tagging me! This seems to be so much fun! I use the unamused face too, very useful haha And Queen of Shadows, that emoji is me. Now that I think of it, it’s really me while reading it haha

    Like

  5. I agree, nothing beats Harry Potter! 😀 I really enjoyed reading through your answers. Also I have only read Harry Potter from the books you mentioned. I seriously need to continue reading the Throne of Glass series. (I have read the first book and the prequel novellas.) Thank you for tagging me!

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! Harry Potter is the best! Haha you’re the second person who’s said that but I understand, I sort of wanted to answer with different books because sometimes tags get repetitive. Ooh I hope you read the Throne of Glass series soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry!! It’s because I was doing it off my phone and it didn’t tell me it sent so I kept rewriting it haha! I’m so sorry. Is it my turn to reply on our longer chat? I’ll do that after planning my lessons. Sorry love 😦 xx

        Like

    1. The Book Thief totally wrecked me too! That ending though…Red Queen had some totally shocking moments, at times it felt like there was betrayal upon betrayal upon betrayal. Like inception! I can’t wait to read The Martian. My dad read it and was laughing out loud too. And why not penguin? Great answers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

