Hauls

BOOK HAUL | Christmas and December

Hi everyone!

I know you may be thinking that this is a little late. Christmas was almost two weeks ago. But I’m sure most of you know how Christmas goes; vouchers and gift cards are received and then you have to formulate a book-buying plan and go shopping. All a big deal!

Today, a package came in the mail and the usual fangirling flailing happened but importantly, it concluded my Christmas book receiving.

I’m here to show you the few books that I received from this period of time. Hopefully you’ll join in the excitement ๐Ÿ™‚

Click the book title to be taken to the Goodreads page, if you wish.

Christmas Gifts

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything Everything

 

This book looks so cute! I’m not a big YA contemporary reader but I couldn’t go passed this one. I’ve heard endless good things and it’s Yoon’s debut novel! I’m so looking forward to reading this over my summer holidays.

The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel

The Rev of Ivy

This is the second novel in the much-loved-by-me Book of Ivy duology. I’ve already read this book and I was the most conflicted about a book I think I’ve ever been. It certainly was interesting but I recommend you give these books a go!

 

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

FullSizeRender (5)

 

Historical fantasy? Always! I’m sure you’ve heard about this one but it’s written by a historian so real-ish events and descriptions are incorporated into a fantasy theme. I’m excited to say the least!

 

Book haul gifts

Bought

Lux: Consequences – Opal and Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

FullSizeRender (7)

I have loved this series ever since I bought it on Kindle years ago. But…I wanted the physical copy, you know? You can relate to that can’t you? Anyway this bind-up helped relieve that tiny bit of regret I felt in buying the books again.

 

Lux: Opposition – Opposition and Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout

FullSizeRender (6)

See above. But I’m especially excited for this book because I’ve never actually read the ending to this series so this will be all new to me. I’m hopeful from the really high Goodreads ratings.

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renรฉe Ahdieh

FullSizeRender (8)

 

Again, I boarded the hype train when I got this. It seems like something I would loooove. Romance and a fairy tale retelling. Hard to go wrong!

 

Winter by Marissa Meyer

FullSizeRender (9)I can’t wait to read the final novel in the Lunar Chronicles series. The cover is gorgeous and judging from the reviews, the inside is too. I must know what happens to all of my favourite characters!

 

Book haul

E-books

Hopeless by Colleen Hooverhopeless

I haven’t really been able to get into Colleen Hoover. I’m hopingย (bad pun…I’m sorry) that this book will change that. Plus, this was free on iBooks! Gimme them free books ๐Ÿ™‚

Night Pleasures by Sherrilyn Kenyon

night pleasures

 

I bought this book upon the recommendation of a friend. (Looking for more!) I’m trying to get more into urban fantasy and they told me this series, despite it’s length, was quite good. I’m excited to see what made them love it!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

an ember in the ashes

This book is so expensive in Australia! I really want to read it and I would’ve preferred the physical version but the e-book was rather cheap and I do want to utilise my Kindle more so I bought this. Maybe I’ll get a physical copy someday but for now, I’m happy to see how good this hyped book is for myself.


So those are the books that I have acquired in the December period. I hope everyone had a lovely bookish Christmas too!

Have you guys read any of these books? What did you think? What books did you get over the holiday time? Do you have any urban fantasy/paranormal recommendations for me? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83ย  ย Goodreads: Liamo’d ย  ย Instagram: @liamslibrary

27 thoughts on “BOOK HAUL | Christmas and December

  1. It’s never too late to post a Christmas haul! Out of the books you’ve received, I’ve read Everything, Everything and Winter, which I gave both 4.5 stars. I also read Hopeless, but I think I gave that 3.75 or 4. I should really get to An Ember in the Ashes and Legacy of Kings… Merry late Christmas and New Years!

    Like

    1. That was my thinking! Shipping to Australia takes a lot longer than to America unfortunately so I had to wait a bit. From your ratings, it sounds like I’ve picked some good books to haul. I’m really, really hoping that Hopeless will get me into CoHo!
      Happy 2016 and reading to you too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Hopeless and Finding Hope. They were the first CoHo books for me since I was late to the CoHo train. Also enjoyed Ugly Love and want to read November 9 of hers.
    Really want to read the the Lunar Chronicles. The Legacy of Kings and The book of Ivy also look good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I must say I’m pleading that Hopeless will help me board the CoHo train because I DNFd Slammed and Ugly Love by her quick smart! The Lunar Chronicle books that I’ve read have been wonderful. Hope you get to them soon! I’m excited to start reading these books ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Oh bugger I was hoping Slammed was going to be ok. But I no more people that have DNFed then not. Most people like CoHos ‘Maybe Someday’ the best. I have it in my collection but yet to read. So maybe that might be one to try too.

        Like

      2. Maybe I should have persisted with it, I don’t know. Maybe I was just disappointed so much because of all the hype. Yes, I’ve heard that about Maybe Someday. It’s on my TBR. The plot sounds much more up my alley ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

    1. Once you’re on the NA track, you never go back! Nah just kidding, it’s just I read a lot more of it because YA contemporary is almost always romance focused and in my humble opinion, NA romance is better.
      Little old me? I’m looking up to your blogging game. It’s strong.

      Like

  3. Don’t know if you open to read anything outside NA, but Anne Bishop is my go to urban fantasy/fantasy author. I’m currently counting down the days til the next book in “The Others series’ comes out in March. Started out reading her ‘Black Jewels’ Series. EPIC!!!

    Like

    1. I’m definitely open to the recommendation, thank you so much! I’ve actually heard about ‘The Others’ series by her and it sounds soooo good. I’ve added it to my TBR. I think I’ll do the same for Black Jewels. Thanks again!

      Like

  4. Love the haul, I really want to read An Ember in the Ashes – hope you enjoy it. Not going to lie I sat and stared at the pun you made about Hopeless for a good minute before I got it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. So many awesome books! Everything, Everything is fantastic. The vignettes and illustrations are so lyrical and beautiful. I hope you enjoy that one even if contemporary isn’t your typical genre. Legacy of Kings, The Wrath and the Dawn, and An Ember in the Ashes are books I also hauled at the end of 2015. Fingers crossed that they’ll live up to the hype for the both of us. ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Everything, Everything sounds even more wonderful! I hope I do too, I’ve got a good feeling about it. That sounds like an amazing haul. Sometimes I feel like I read too many hyped books, worried that I’ll be disappointed. A clear mind is the best I can do to remove myself from it. Hope you enjoy those books! Happy reading ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

