Lists · Other

Books I Want To Get To In 2016

Hi everyone!

The new year brings about lots of goals, resolutions and bucket-lists and in thinking about all this, as a book lover, we can’t help but remember those books that we, for some reason, haven’t got around to yet. Maybe we’re yet to finish a series, maybe we’ve heard endless good things about a certain book from others or maybe it’s a book that’s been sitting on our shelf for years.

Whatever it is, I know that there are a few books and book series that I would love to pick up and get to in the new year. Today I thought I’d let you know what those are.

Before I start, this is not a challenge. Merely, a highlighting of those books that I wish to start when it comes to this year’s reading.

Without further ado, the books I would love/need to get to in 2016;

1. Cress & Winter by Marissa Meyer

cress13206900

I get this weird feeling with this series where I look at the books and feel skeptical or hesitant (it’s probably the sci-fi aspects) and then I finally pick it up and love it. It happened with both Cinder and Scarlet and it’s happening with Cress now. But I know I’m going to enjoy the last two books in the Lunar Chronicles so they’re definitely on my must read pile for this year!

2. Snow Like Ashes series by Sara Raasch

snow like ashes

 

This book has been sitting on my shelf for the better part of a year. It sounds really interesting with the whole seasons-as-kingdoms thing. Last year I wasn’t really in the fantasy mood so hopefully I can finally get around to this series in 2016.

 

3. Rebel Spring and the Falling Kingdom series by Morgan Rhodes

rebel spring

 

I really enjoyed the first book in this young adult fantasy series but for some reason I didn’t continue on to the sequels. It’s my plan in 2016 to complete the books out so far.

 

4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride and prejudice

 

Last year, one of my goals was to read six classics and I had this one in mind when I thought of that goal. Unfortunately, it wasn’t one of the six I managed to read. So this year I wan’t to fix that situation and read this book which I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time.

 

5. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

a clash of kings

 

I adored the first book in the Song of Ice and Fire series, A Game of Thrones but probably mistakenly, I dove straight into its sequel A Clash of Kings. I never got passed half-way. My hope is to at least read one more book in this series.

 

6. The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson

the kiss of deception

 

Some of you may know that I tried to read The Kiss of Deception earlier this year and just couldn’t get into it. But I’ve heard wonderful things about it so I really want to at least persist through one book and see for myself.

 

7. Days of Blood & Starlight and Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

1281255013618440

This series had also been on my shelf for over a year. I randomly picked up Daughter of Smoke & Bone one day and really enjoyed it. The good news here is that I’m currently reading Days of Blood & Starlight so this series will probably be off this list relatively early on in the year. Fingers crossed!

8.Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

outlander

 

Romance. Time travel. Scotland. Why haven’t I read this series yet? Really though, these books sound so amazing, something I would really like. I’ve been thinking about reading them forever, I think it’s time I actually did it.

 

9. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

the raven boys

 

This isn’t actually a series that I’ve been wanting to read for very long. In fact, I avoided it. I hated Stiefvater’s Shiver series and wasn’t about to give her a second chance. But when the rave and convincing reviews started flooding in, I was sold! Now it’s become one of my need-now books.

 

10. Origin and Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout

originopposition

This one I’m a little embarrassed about especially because I consider it one of my favourite series…but I haven’t even finished it! I still need to complete Origin and Opposition. But I know I love these books so this one I’m confident I’ll finish in the new year!

11. Special Mention: A Victoria Schwab book

Literally any of them. They all sound so good! And I’ve been wanting to read one of her books for ages. 2016 will be the year!


So there you have it, my ‘book bucket-list’ of sorts.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Are there any books that you would like to get to in 2016? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

29 thoughts on “Books I Want To Get To In 2016

  1. I never got past A Clash of Kings but congratulations, you did! A Song of Ice and Fire was tolerable because it’s aligned with the show. GRRM’s writing is too much for my brain so I’d rather just watch it. Haha! 😀

    Like

    1. I haven’t got through it yet, only about a third through but I hope to finish it. I’m really enjoying reading the books but I can definitely understand the struggle to get past the writing and huge plot. I also hope to catch up with the show this year 🙂

      Like

  2. Good luck with your challenge, Liam! I think if I were to make this post it would look almost identical to yours haha! I NEED to read the sequels to Cinder and Falling Kingdoms, although I enjoyed both I totally missed the ball with following up on the story. I also need to get into The Raven Cycle now that the last book is being released as well – nothing I love more than the hype train 😉

    And yessss you need Victoria Schwab in your life, she is most amazeballs.

    Happy new year :D!!

    Like

    1. Ugh I can be terrible at reading sequels. I can say that Scarlet is a fantastic sequel to Cinder though, I loved it! I’m secretly hoping for a Raven cycle box set when the fourth comes out because I haven’t actually got the books yet. That way I can marathon the series (I love a good series marathon), but yes, the hype is so real for those books. I reeaaalllly do need V Schwab!
      Thank you for the kind words, Aentee! Happy new year to you too 🙂

      Like

  3. You have such great books on your list! A couple of them I want to get into myself, like the Raven Boys or the Lunar Chronicles 🙂 I have tried to read Outlander, but somehow I got stuck around page 350 or so :/ I think I’ll stick to the show for that one …

    Like

    1. Well, I can definitely vouch for the first two Lunar Chronicles, they’re wonderful! But yes, I can be terrible at reading series enders. Happy reading for when you do pick them up! Outlander for you is the same as Game of Thrones for me. I put A Clash of Kings on this list but I’ve probably been stuck a third of the way through that for too long. Maybe I should just stick with the show, even if I finish it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really, really want to read it 🙂 So not much convincing needed for the Lunar Chronicles!
        I’ve actually attempted reading A Song of Ice and Fire as well and by some miracle I got to book 5 and then stuck right in the middle of that one. Martin is really difficult to read sometimes, especially when you don’t care for certain POVs ….

        Like

      2. Yay! You can hop on the Lunar Chronicles bandwagon soon I hope!
        Book 5? No small feat! Go you 🙂 I can understand. I really didn’t enjoy some POVs either. Bran and Catelyn were not my favourites. The plot was what made up for it!

        Like

      3. I hope so too! Now that all books are out, I’m really rooting for the bookstores to get a box set with all of them in it.
        Thanks! I’m a little proud of getting that far.

        Like

  4. Such great books! I’ve been wanting to read Pride and Prejudice for so long! I hope this year I get to read it!
    I really liked the Kiss of Deception and I hope this time you can get into the story and enjoy it!
    Good luck with Outlander. I’ve read it and really enjoyed it but at the beginning it was kind of hard because it was slow for me, but then from the middle through the end it was soo good! I love the book and the tv show! In 2015
    I read The Raven Boys and I gave it a 4/5 stars I think. I enjoyed it and it was my first Stiefvater book. I will continue reading that series this year!
    I don’t know what you are waiting to finish the Lux series! I loove them, it’s one of my fav series, so I had to say it haha
    Rebel Spring and Snow Like Ashes are really good too!
    Good luck! 😀

    Like

    1. Sounds like you’ve read everything I haven’t managed to read. You’re much more caught-up than me!
      I hope I enjoy all these books as much as you. They all sound so wonderful! Yes, Pride and Prejudice is a priority this year, I can’t keep putting it off haha!
      You’re lucky The Raven Boys was your first Stiefvater book, her wolf series was terrible. Good luck with the rest of that series.
      Ooh yay! Another Lux fan. I read the first three ages ago and the fourth book hadn’t come out yet so I had to wait, but then I forgot about it. Recently I re-read them and now I must finish the series!
      Thank you for the lovely comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I, as well, need to get to Jane Austen’s works & start the Lunar Chronicles. I actually received Cinder for the holidays but I’m waiting to get the second novel, haha. Also, I have Sense & Sensibility by Austen but I haven’t gotten to it! So hopefully I’ll get to those sometime this year..Great post! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Like

    1. Lucky you, getting Cinder! I hope you like the series when you start reading it! Realistically, I’d be happy to read any of Jane Austen’s novels, it’s just that I think I will enjoy Pride and Prejudice the most. But Sense and Sensibility sounds great too. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Awesome bucket list, Liam! Cress and Winter were my favourite of The Lunar Chronicles (which is my favourite series of all time) so I hope you get to them soon! I recently marathoned The Raven Cycle and I can say that the hype is real! Though I do have to say that it might not be for everyone since the pace is super slow. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is one that has been on my wish list for a really long time but I just haven’t been able to justify buying a whole trilogy when I have so many books on my TBR to read. But one day!

    Like

    1. Thank you Jenna! I think if I enjoy Cress and Winter as much as I think/hope I will then they will be well on the way to becoming one of my favourite series too. I’m happy you found your special series! Soon, I promise! As for the Raven Cycle, I don’t mind slow books but the characters have to make up for it. And I’ve heard the writing is wonderful too so that helps. I can say that Daughter of Smoke and Bone was a fantastic start to the trilogy. If you don’t mind weird storylines, you’ll most likely enjoy it. “One day” is like my life motto when it comes to books haha! Thank you for the comment 🙂

      Like

  7. Lots of great books here, I enjoyed the Raven cycle (which is heavily a character rather than a plot driven series so proceed with caution), the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, and A Song of Ice and Fire 🙂 I wasn’t a fan of Rebel Spring but I love Magnus as a character. I have yet to start the Lunar Chronicles and will be reading Cinder this month. Good luck with your TBR list and the challenge!

    Like

    1. Yes, I’ve heard that about The Raven Cycle. Many people say it makes it a slower read but I like books like that when I’m in the certain mood. Falling Kingdoms was really enjoyable but I couldn’t understand the enormous love for Magnus, maybe I’ll figure it out in the next books! Enjoy Cinder, and good luck with your 2016 reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

