Lists · Other

2016 Goals & Resolutions

Hi everyone!

It’s that time of the year again! The time on my blog where I discuss with you what I hope to achieve in the year 2016.

Now, I’m not usually one for huge goals that can take over my life. I like to outline some small, basic things that I would like to achieve, hopefully so that when I look back on the year next December I can see what I’ve done. I’m always trying to take life one step further each time I achieve a goal from the year before.

Let’s begin! I’ll break this down into a couple of categories. I really like the way Josie @Josie’s Book Corner did her goals post so I’m sort of copying her format here. Hope that’s ok, Josie! Make sure to check out her post here if you haven’t.

2016 Reading Goals

  • Read 60 books: As a part of the Goodreads challenge I like to push my reading (not force). In 2015 my goal was 70 books and I surpassed that, however this upcoming school year is going to be more intense so I decided to take it a step down but still ensure that I read as much as I know I can. So I’m going for 60.
  • Participate in more read-a-thons: Vague, I know! By this I guess I just want to participate in more read-a-thons than I did last year. So…three or more. I really enjoy them and they challenge me so bring it on!
  • Read more broadly: Whether that’s classics, horror, sci-fi or adult fiction, I really want to see what’s out there.

2016 Blogging Goals

  • Create a schedule/be more consistent: My blogging this year has been all over the place. I’ve posted anywhere between four and ten times in a month. I need to create a workable, consistent schedule especially due to my increasing school pressure.
  • Review more books: Does anyone get that thing where if they didn’t enjoy a book too much they can’t be bothered to review that book? Well, I do. I hope to not only review more books but review books no matter the rating I give them.
  • Become more creative: I hope to broaden the personality of my blog. Do more discussion posts, come up with my own personal post ideas, join a weekly feature or other group. That sort of thing.

2016 Personal Goals

  • Write more!: And don’t give up on the stories you start.
  • Start driving: I need to conquer my fear here and start learning how to drive. It’ll open up a new world of freedom for me.
  • Get a job: I need to conquer my fear here too. And then I can buy so many more books 🙂

So those are the very simple things I hope to either do more of or start doing in 2016. We’ll look back at the end of the year to see how I did.

I hope you all have amazing new year’s celebrations and I’ll see you next year! I have a good feeling about 2016, let’s see what it has in store for us!

Tell me what your goals are for 2016. Do you do new year’s resolutions? Let me know!

Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

 

39 thoughts on “2016 Goals & Resolutions

  1. Great post, Liam!

    I also want to read 60 books next year, having read 62 books out of 50. As for blogging, more posts hopefully since I posted less this year which is okay because I just started last June.

    Like

    1. Thanks! Wow, you killed your reading goal. Congrats! 60 is a nice achievable number. That’s a great blogging goal. Now that you’ve been going for a little while and sorted blogging out you can definitely achieve that! Good luck in the new year 🙂

      Like

  2. Great goals, Liam! We have some personal goals in common — I am also currently learning to drive but I am very terrified & I’ve learned recently that I suck at turning, haha. Hope you are able to conquer your fears sooner than me! Good luck! 😀

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Like

    1. Thank you! Ugh driving is the worst! I’m terrified I’ll crash my dad’s car or hurt someone if I get behind the wheel. But yes, I need to conquer that. Keep turning, you can do it!
      Good luck in the new year for you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I got my license just recently and am learning how to drive stick–it explains to me how driving can be terrifying, but a note to that as well: you do have some control, and practice is the only way to be able to exercise it as well as you possibly could. Good luck with everything ❤

    Like

  4. This is a great post. I should add Participate in more read-a-thons and Read more broadly to my goals. The last one might be a bit difficult because it’s not always easy to be ‘out of my comfort zone’ but at least I should try!
    Next year I hope to be more organized and that goes with your first point of Blogging Goals. I think sometimes I just post too much and everything whenever I want which is great but I would like a kind of calendar or something.
    Become more creative, I definitely need this. I want to do different things but sometimes the ideas won’t come haha
    I’ve a good feeling about 2016, for me it’ll be busier and with more challenges and new things but I’m excited for them.
    Happy new year and best of lucks for 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Aldii!
      I understand perfectly! I find it really difficult to step out of my comfort zone too but yes, the new year is all about trying.
      I agree also with being organised. And for me, prioritising. Sometimes I do things when I know I should be doing others. I wouldn’t be too worried about posting too much, that’s how you get people’s attention but yes, organisation is important.
      Haha I rarely can think of ideas. Hopefully, one will just pop into my head some time. I hope so for you too!
      I hope also that you achieve all you set out to do! Best of luck back to you. Thanks for the sweet comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Like you, my goal is to read beyond the comforts of YA! That will be tough but I’ll try 🙂
    I secretly liked being snarky (but with bases) on my reviews of books I didn’t like. Haha!
    Good luck at school this yeeeear! 😀

    Like

  6. Liam! It is more than okay for you to copy my format, go for it! I’m glad you liked the way I did my resolutions! And good luck with all do yours, I’ll be learning how to drive this year too and we have quite a few reading and blogging goals in common!

    Like

  7. Good luck with driving, Liam! You’ll soon learn that it’s not so bad. 🙂 And I, too, want to diversify the genres I read from. More literary fiction and classics! (I saw Pride and Prejudice on your list of books you want to read in 2016. Read it! It’s my favorite Austen work.) And, happy new year!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Summer! I hope I won’t be absolutely terrible at it. I have some faith in my parents’ driving/teaching abilities! Every year I try to increase the amount of classics I read. Last year I read six. This year maybe I can read seven. Good luck with your goal! I’ll get on Pride and Prejudice as soon as I can! Happy new year to you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post!

    I can especially relate to learning how to drive. I mean, I’m nineteen and I don’t even have a license yet. My parents think it’s because I’m way too lazy to learn, but truthfully, I’m terrified of going behind the wheel! Anyway. Good luck with all your goals! And have a great year ahead!

    Like

      1. I know! And I’m pretty clumsy too. I can’t stop myself from fearing for my life and imagining myself hitting every tree I come across. Anyway. Sure thing! I’m pretty new here, so I’m still hoping for more blogger friends.

        Like

      2. Haha me too! Not the most coordinated person around. I’m worried I’d just panic in tense situations and end up doing something wrong. Anyway, welcome to the blogosphere (however you spell that), we can definitely be friends if you want 🙂 ?

        Like

      1. For sure! I needed the motivation! I’m actually currently typing up a post about Looking For Alaska (first read of the year) and it is still not posted yet… *tear*

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

