Lists · Recommendations

The Library Recommends: New Adult

Hi everyone!

So if you’ve been following my blog or just general reading habits then you probably know that I’ve really been getting into new adult, especially this year.

I’ve even been asked by people to recommend them new adult books because they too want to familiarise themselves with the age bracket/genre. Plus, I’ve always wanted to do a recommendations post so I thought this would be a great place to start a new possible series.

So if you’ve ever been curious about it or maybe you already read some NA books but just want some more to check out, either way I hope this helps you. I know I’ve definitely been helped by recommendation posts.

*Books have mature content unless otherwise stated*

Driven series by K. Bromberg

17798287

Rylee Thomas is used to being in control. But she’s about to meet the one man that just might make her enjoy losing it…when our worlds collide, is the chemistry enough to bring us together or will our untold secrets and battle of wills force us apart?

This one is definitely classed amongst the drama/mainly romance part of new adult that can sometimes get bad stereotypes but this series blew me away. It was one of my first experiences with it and I just remember a complete addiction to the story and loving the characters, just everything that you want in a book. While the drama and angst was definitely there, I personally always found it the perfect amount. It felt a step deeper than your regular fluffy romance. Definitely give this one a go!

Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

20639274

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

You may have heard me raving about his book for a while now but honestly this is one of my favourites of the year and a new all-time favourite book. A much, much deeper NA novel which I something I really appreciated while reading it. The thing that most stands out to me is the message behind it. Personally, I found it to be so inspiring and made me really think about my life, which is very rare. I also absolutely adored the characters, even found myself thinking of them ages after finishing the book. A real pick-me-up book with a brilliant message.

Clarity series by Loretta Lost

20895056

*Significantly less mature content*

Fiercely independent Helen Winters was born completely blind, but she vowed never to let her disability keep her down. When Helen’s demons come racing back into her life, threatening to rip her apart and destroy the strength she has carefully rebuilt, Liam is the only one who might be able to save her.

This book had a very different plot line that made it really stand out to me. First of all, our main character is blind which is something I’d never had the opportunity to read from the perspective of. You’ve still got the drama and romance (though much more subtle) but the story really focuses on characters growing from their pasts. The plot held a bit of mystery and the writing was equal parts tragic and heart-warming. This book isn’t for everyone I will say but give it a go for something different!

The Coincidence series by Jessica Sorensen

16113791

When fate lands Kayden and Callie at the same college, Kayden is determined to get to know the beautiful girl who changed his destiny. Callie still fears letting anyone else into her world. But Kayden is certain that Callie has come back into his life for a reason. And the more he tries to be a part of her life, the more he realizes that, this time, it’s Callie who needs to be saved…

Okay, I will admit, this is your classic angsty/saving/drama romance but I’ll be the first to admit it was so addicting and well-done. I ended up relating to Callie quite a bit as the reserved, shy type and I found Kayden so darn swoony in the build up of their relationship when they’re helping each other. Definitely an emotional rollercoaster and I loved the way the past and present were woven together. I recommend for people who love a good drama in their romances that holds a side of tearjerker!

Fever by Melissa Pearl

22545700

Can one voice really have that much of an impact? Ella Simmons finds things are not that simple when she hears a luscious voice singing over her shower wall. Cole Reynolds is compelled to find his shower songbird as he begins a search across campus. Relationships are put to the ultimate test as future dreams are questioned and friendships are thrown on the line for love. 

Beware with this book. It definitely isn’t one for serious change-your-life feels but I found it super helpful when I was in a deep reading slump. I read it in one and a half sittings and absolutely inhaled the cuteness of the story. It’s a cliché, rather unoriginal story but nevertheless you can’t help but kind of love the coincidences. Easily described as just quick fun for something to get you back into reading.

So there you have it, five books for you to try in the New Adult bracket of literature. I hope you find something you like here, if not, let me know if you’d be open to another recommendations post. Or any other genres for that matter. Also, let me know your thoughts if you’ve read any of the books I mentioned.

Side note: I decided to create an Instagram account. I love scrolling through the book accounts on there plus I can connect with all you lovelies who most likely are more tech savvy than I am. So let me know your Instagram account names I’d love to know! Oh and I’m just @liamslibrary. Original.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Leave a Reply

