Lists · Other

October Wrap-Up!

Hi everyone!

So I’m back! I’m sorry, I took a little bit of time off the whole blogging thing. There was lots going on in the family and school and personally. But anyway, it’s time to get back into the swing of things.

Today I’m here to wrap up the reading I did this month. I managed to complete six books which I’m really happy with. Here they are.

1. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

17167166

I did a full review of this one which you can see here. But I absolutely love this book and thought it opened up the series for bigger and better things.

2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

6260806

This was a read for literature class and to be honest I really, really didn’t like it. The characters needed a real hard slap in the face! The one thing that I did like was the beautiful writing that was used to describe scenes. I gave this 1.5 Stars.

3. Fever by Melissa Pearl

22545700

It was around this time that I got into a mood where you just need something quick and light to get on with reading. And this book was perfect for it. Despite the amount of cheesiness I couldn’t help but love the classic tale of love and mistaken identity. This one definitely served its purpose. 4 Stars.

4. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

20613470

I was ready to return to the Throne of Glass world by this stage and this instalment didn’t disappoint although it wasn’t my favourite in the series. The beginning was so slow and hard to get into however I loved the addition of the witches and Rowan. I gave it 4.25 Stars.

5. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

18006496

Can we all just take a minute…because this book was so dang good! Seriously one of my favourite books, period. I’m still not over it and I think about it constantly even though I read it a week ago. Just everything about this book was perfection. All the new characters, the story, the badassery. ALL OF IT! 5 Stars obviously.

6. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

51POxFOMEmL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book just made me happy. It was super cute and fluffy and Simon’s voice was funny and easy to read and just very true. My problem was a dislike for some of the characters. I wasn’t a big fan of Blue, he frustrated me. Some dialogue was also a little cliché. But a very diverse and important novel. 3.5 Stars.

So those are all the books that I read in October, not much spooky stuff, Halloween and Australia aren’t really a thing. Our house only got two trick or treat knocks.

How was your October, what did you read? Have you read any of the books that I read? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and being patient through my small break. I’ll talk to you guys in my next post. Hopefully I’m back now, I’ve got a few posts planned 🙂

Liam

9 thoughts on “October Wrap-Up!

  1. YAAAAS I’m so glad you loved Queen of Shadows! That book has my whole heart wrapped around its pages. The feeling when I finished it was indescribable, I couldn’t do anything the entire day afterwards.

    Like

    1. It’s definitely an all-time favourite now! Just everything about it was perfection. I couldn’t read anything else for a whole week because QOS was all I could think about. But seriously, I can’t wait another moment for book 5, I’m dying over here!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the exact same way about Queen of Shadows. I just can’t get over it! It was easily my favorite book in the series and I practically read it in about two days which was a huge achievement for me considering it’s about 65o pages long. I so need the fifth book right now! I wish it was September again already!

    Like

    1. Right?! I couldn’t read another thing for a week. I felt like it was just a big step above because Heir of Fire was not my favourite. Two days? Wow, teach me your ways! Although maybe I could have read it faster if I wasn’t constantly putting it down because my heart couldn’t stand the amount of feels 🙂 Gimme gimme book 5!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah those feels! They nearly killed me! Especially towards the end, I was so worried about Dorian! My heart nearly stopped at the scene where Aelin was fighting him. Crown of Midnight was my favorite, before Queen of Shadows of course. I thought Heir of Fire had amazing character development but I found it a bit too slow for my taste.

        Like

Leave a Reply

