Reviews

Book Review – Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Hi everyone!

So I’ve been tossing up for a while about whether I should make this review spoiler or non-spoiler because I do want to share my thoughts but it’s in the middle of the series. In the end, I’ve decided to do a mixture of both. Don’t worry people who haven’t read up to this book, I will give you plenty of notice for when to look away but I really wanted to talk about a few things in this review.

For now, everyone can look on!

17167166

Review:

Crown of Midnight, I found, was a large step up from its predecessor, Throne of Glass. I felt like almost everything in some way improved in this sequel.

With the characters, I felt as though Celaena became a bit stronger and more aware of what was at stake. Something I really liked was how she looked upon others a lot more rather than herself, something I felt like she didn’t do enough of in the first book. I also found more diversity in her character. She had badass moments, romantic moments, dramatic moments, sad moments all handled more often and with more sophistication. Many other characters were similar.

We saw more sides of Dorian than we did in the first book, I found him to be more vulnerable and open which I really enjoyed. Chaol, in contrast, became a bit more fun (but still a little too annoyingly noble).

My goodness did the plot step up a lot. It expanded like the big bang. I found that the majority of this book was shrouded in mystery that the reader was trying to figure out along with the other characters, it was a lot of fun to see the ends tie together and the pieces click into place but don’t worry, there are still plenty left to discover. Magic became more prominent and explained further. I found it fascinating.

History and politics, along with general world-building, was expanded also. Basically every plot element was taken and multiplied by a-bijillion. The pacing was a little faster to keep up with the mystery and more action that we received (YEESSSS).

Phew, this was really hard to keep non-spoiler. There’s not a lot I can say without doing so.

In general, an improvement on the already-enjoyable Throne of Glass. I definitely recommend you pick up this series or if you didn’t enjoy Throne of Glass so much, continuing on to the sequel to see if your feelings become more positive.

I gave Crown of Midnight: 4.75 Stars.

four_half-stars_0

*OK PEOPLE SPOILERS AHEAD. DO NOT CONTINUE UNLESS YOU HAVE READย CROWN OF MIDNIGHT*

You’ve been warned!

Ok, so there are a few things that I need to get off my chest and discuss.

Firstly, so after I finished Crown of Midnight, I naturally went to read reviews that I found for it on YouTube and Goodreads and I was so surprised to see so many comments that expressed their sympathies for Nehemia because I was just sitting over here like “No, she lied and deceived and hid so many things from her so-called ‘friend’ and was such a hypocrite in saying that Celaena should never lie to her.” Of course, her death was devastating (and grotesque) and I actually had to put the book down because of feels but still, she was kind of a bad friend. But I guess her death made Celaena actually start to do something about the inequality of the Ellwyean people which I’m happy about.

In terms of the romance, honestly I don’t think I have a team. I’m probably leaning towards Dorian at the moment but I still like Chaol. Oh, I don’t know! I felt so sorry for Dorian in this book, just cast off to the side and hurtfully rejected I couldn’t help but root for him. As I said, I still found Chaol to be annoyingly loyal and noble to the King and you just want to shake him. But the scenes in certain broom closets were swoon-worthy. And I’ve heard that a certain sexy Fae called Rowan comes into play soon so right now, I don’t know who to ship!

Ooh, can we also talk about Dorian having magic, like…YES PLEASE. I am so excited to see where this goes and to see where his abilities take him, especially in the Kingdom where his father thinks it’s ok only if he has magic, not anyone else. I hope this gives him the boost he needs to start standing up.ย I’m picturing some kick-butt magic scenes already. And same for Celaena because damn girl, the scene where she turns into Fae and starts shooting blue fire was hella badass. I loved how awesome she was with the Wyrdmarks as well, opening portals wherever she wants. But man, the part where Archer ran off with the book that holds the spell to close it was so tense. Speaking of Fae, umm Celaena is the rightful heir to the Terassen throne. WHAT?! I mean, I kind of saw something like this happening but it was still a nice surprise. I’m pumped to see what Celaena does now that she’s travelling to the land of the Fae.

I found the big reveal with Archer obvious. I even wrote down in my notes that he was setting Celaena up. Honestly, that guy really needed to sort out his priorities ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh and how much do we all hate Hollin already? I feel like he’s going to play a large role in messing something up and I’m not excited to see it.

There’s so many things to talk about but I don’t want this review to go on forever. Did you enjoy Crown of Midnight?ย Let me know if you share my feels in the comments, let’s discuss! Also, tell me if you like this type of review and I’ll see if I can do them for the rest of the series.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Goodreads: Liamo’d

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

15 thoughts on “Book Review – Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

    1. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I honestly don’t know still, indecisive me! I think I’m leaning a little towards Dorian after book #2. But very, very open to change haha. How about you?

      Like

  1. oh finally!!! I never really trusted Nehemia, her death was horrific, but I mourned more the fact that Celaena lost a friends, that she needed, than for Nehemia herself, because what she did was unforgivable.

    If you don’t ship anyone fiercely by now (I didn’t either at your point), hold off until the next couple of books, then we’ll talk ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    1. Yay, a fellow distruster haha! Me too, I was sad for the friendship and because Nehemia was clever and could have helped Celaena but yeah she lied to her constantly. It makes no sense!
      I just started Heir of Fire and I think I know what you’re talking about, a certain Fae?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Liam you I have no idea how awesome things get with Dorian and his magic and Celaena and ROWAN. I hope that when you meet Rowan, you will adore him as much as I do.
    Now I’m going to stop talking before I spoil the whole series for you because I’ve read Queen of Shadows and I am a result dangerous Throne of Glass fangirl to be around if you haven’t read up to Queen of Shadows yet ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    1. I just started Heir of Fire and met Rowan. He seems the brooding type haha! ๐Ÿ˜ I’m ridiculously excited for Dorian’s magic though, and Celaena’s abilities too.
      Oh I know, my friend is reading Shatter Me now and it is such a struggle to not fangirl and accidentally ruin something.
      I’ll let you know how I get on in the review soon (because let’s be honest I’m probably going to fly through it I’m so excited!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I love the brooding type so obviously I fell for him immediately. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        If you’re excited for Dorian’s magic, just you wait until Queen of Shadows (particularly the end of Queen of Shadows); you’ll probably squeal from the sheer thrill of it!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: October Wrap-Up! |

Leave a Reply

