Hauls

Book Haul – August and September

Hi everyone!

I’ve been gone for a little while now and I’m really sorry for that but I took a little break while school was finishing up for the term. But now I’m on holidays and here to show you the books that I have collected over the two months of August and September! Don’t worry, I’m not a huge book buyer so this post won’t be too long however there are still quite a few goodies purchased so I’m very excited.

(I won’t put in synopses, but a link to the Goodreads page will be in the book title)

The first book I got in August was Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

  
 I’m in all support of diverse books in Young Adult so this one seemed like a fun way to explore this. I’m so, so happy the LGBTQIA+ community is finally getting some recognition and acknowledgment in literature. Very excited to get to this, it sounds adorable!

The next book here to show you is The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski.

  
I read the first book a couple of months ago and found it to be a solid start to an different fantasy trilogy. I’ve heard it gets better which is even more promising. Love the colours on these covers!

Then, purchased the very next day was Salt and Stone by Victoria Scott.

  
Once again, I absolutely loved the first book in this series and of course, wanted to continue on. I’ve already devoured this book and loved it (almost, almost as much as the first). Hopefully a review to be coming shortly.

Now onto September books, I have here Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout.

  
This is one of my favourite series and I’m only a little bit guilty that I spent money to get a physical copy when I already own a digital (do other people do this?) I just love it so much and had to have it. I’m making it my mission to collect the whole series!

Then, because of my birthday I got a package in the mail recently that had some very exciting goodies inside. The thrill was real when it arrived. Inside contained:

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

  
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

  
The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

  
Throne of Glass overload, I think! I’ve read the first book already, probably before it was even popular, and really enjoyed it. So now I have the whole series so far and I’m pumped. Queen of Shadows is a monster book! And I’ve been pining over The Kiss Of Deception for far too long, it needed to be in my life.

I’ve heard many good things about all of these books and I just started to re-read Throne of Glass today. I’ll be sure to let you know full thoughts later!

So those are the nine books that I’ve purchased over the last two months. Not a huge amount, but nevertheless I’m extremely happy with all of them.

What books have you guys acquired recently? What are your thoughts on these ones? Let me know!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

10 thoughts on “Book Haul – August and September

  1. Great haul! With the Throne of Glass series, even if you don’t enjoy the first one try hang on to at least the third book- they become excellent!!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Well, when I read the first one I really enjoyed it so I’m really excited to continue. I’ve heard they just keep getting better. Have you read Queen of Shadows yet, what did you think of you have?

      Like

      1. I actually didn’t like the first two books so I started loving the series from Heir of Fire! I found Queen of Shadows amazing because it took the story in a direction I find exciting. But I know a lot of people who are fans of the first two books who hates it. Basically the first two are character based but the later two are more like epic fantasy in plot.

        Like

      2. Hmm that is interesting. I’ll have to see which I prefer. Yes Heir of Fire is considerably larger and some say slower paced so now that makes sense about it being more plot based. I can’t wait to see what happens! That was patient of you to continue from two books that you didn’t like!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. My blogging friends basically forced me to continue haha. I also thought CoM was a giant improvement from ToG.

        Like

      4. EEEP thank you so much!! I am glad you approved. SJM said she liked them on Twitter and I almost died hehe 😄

        Like

  2. I loved Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, it sent me places! I think it’s such a good read for people who are questioning and dealing with coming out (such as myself) it really opened myself to a new perspective.

    Like

    1. Yes that’s exactly why it appealed to me too (not that I’m questioning but yeah, dealing with coming out). I really want to read more LGBT+ contemporary books and I think they’re so important to help people growing up now. And this one just sounds so cute!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

