Lists · Tags

Mid-Year Book Freak Out

Hi everyone!

I know what you may be thinking. Mid-Year Book Freak Out? But it’s August already? I know, I know and I put it all down to forgetfulness and being busy. I always wanted to do this when I got to the middle of the year and then I blinked and it was August. I even had it written down and then I sort of forgot to do it.

Anyway. Basically, this is just a tag-like thing where you talk about the things that you have read so far this year. It’s very much an in the moment thing and something to look back on at the end of the year.

1. The best book you have read so far this year.

20820994

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

Oh ma gawd where to start with this beautiful book. Seriously, it was everything and you should read it. Just the characters and the writing and the cuteness gah!

I have a mini book review for it if you want to know full thoughts: I’ll Give You The Sun Book Review

2. The best sequel you have read so far this year.

Scarlet

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

This is almost a winner for best book, it was so good. The way the plot developed and all the characters came together was just perfect. I loved the new romance and the introduction of Queen Levana’s evil plans. I can’t believe I haven’t read Cress yet, I need to get on that.

3. A new release you haven’t read yet but you want to

Ok, there’s quite a few but I’ll narrow it down to two (why choose one when you can choose two when it comes to books).

The Wrath And The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

and even though it was released in February,

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab

A Darker Shade final for Irene

These two have quite a lot of buzz and just sound so amazing. I need my hands on them right now! Honourable mention goes to Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone.

4. Most anticipated release from the rest of the year

You’d be hard pressed to find a young adult book lover who isn’t even a smidgen excited for Winter by Marissa Meyer. This comes out November 10th.

13206900

I haven’t even read Cress and I’m so excited to see how this story wraps up. Another honourable mention goes to Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. Again, haven’t even read past book one, but the reason is I want to read the first four when it comes out so I’m waiting. Both of these are super exciting!

5. Biggest disappointment of the year

There isn’t really a book that I was hugely disappointed in this year but if I had to pick a book that I was a little let down by it would be Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo.

IMG_1932

I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending. I understood it, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it. If you’ve read it you may know what I’m talking about. It was a hit and miss scenario and for me it missed.

6. The biggest surprise

This would have to be Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan.

20639274

I went into this book expecting a romance with the typical relationship drama but I finished this book almost in tears. It was one of the most beautiful stories I’ve read and it has the best message behind it. I would tell everyone to give it a go even if new adult isn’t really your thing because it deeply surprised me.

7. Favourite new author (debut or otherwise)

I just realised I haven’t read more than one book by the same new author that I really loved. Interesting. I may need to marathon a new series soon. For this I’m going with debut then obviously and my answer is Amy Engel who wrote The Book of Ivy.

20640755

This was another surprise book this year although not on the same scale because I’d heard good things beforehand. But yeah, this book is a duology and I was very impressed by the opening instalment. I look forward to seeing what else Engel writes.

8. Newest favourite character

Ooh this is a hard question. One that randomly comes to mind is the Darkling from the Shadow and Bone series.

IMG_1930-1

He was just so complex and by the end I still don’t think I have figured him out. I loved any scene that had him in it. He really kept the extra spark in these books going.

9. A book that made you cry

20639274

I’m sorry for the repeated answer here but Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan made me mist up a little. I don’t really cry when reading but this book was so emotional I couldn’t hold it in by the end.

10. A book that just made you happy

This would be Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

FullSizeRender

This was mainly because the main character had social anxiety which is something I can whole heartedly relate to and just the way things panned out for her made me smile and have a little extra life hope, you know?

11. Favourite book to movie adaptation you’ve seen this year

I honestly haven’t seen very many. Was Mockingjay Part 1 released this year? I can’t even remember. If not, then umm I don’t know, Fifty Shades of Grey?

I really need to see some more.

12. The most beautiful book that you have bought so far this year

Probably either Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard or I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

1021203420820994

You decide which is better because I can’t choose!

13. The book/s you really want to read by the end of the year

Apart from the books I listed in the most anticipated new releases, my most wanted to read would have to be the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor.

51kTIlXatRL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_1281255013618440

I swear they stare at me from my bookshelf in distaste after sitting there for so long. One day my friends, one day!

So that was the not-so mid year book freak out.If you want and it’s not too far into the year tell me what your favourite books have been so far in 2015. Or tell me what you are looking forward to by the end.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Goodreads: Liamo’d

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

16 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out

  1. Love the books you read! I haven’t read any of those yet but I’ve been skimming them on bookstores especially Since You Been Gone and All The Bright Places. I’m glad you enjoy them 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks! I really want to read All The Bright Places, I’ve heard some good things but I don’t know if I’m ready for possible sadness. Since You’ve Been Gone is great, I definitely recommend. I read it in winter but it would be great for summer too. The friendship aspects are really heartening!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A Darker Shade of Magic is really amazing, hope you’ll have a chance to pick it up soon! I’ll Give You The Sun sounds beautiful, I’ll have to give it a try when I’m in the mood for contemporary.

    Like

    1. Ooh I hope so! I’ve heard many a good thing but I’m waiting for the opportunity to purchase it from America because I prefer that cover (yes, I am that sad and desperate haha)! I cannot recommend I’ll Give You The Sun enough, it is truly very beautiful. Hope you enjoy it when you’re in the mood.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I have Daughter of Smoke and Bone staring at me from my bookshelf, too. I bought it like a year ago and haven’t even opened it yet. I’m also super excited for Winter. I need a good re-read of the series before it comes out.

    Like

  4. YESSSSSS! Go read Wrath and the Dawn. Go go go! Also, Darkling *dreamy sigh* No one can resist his charms! I also loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. Hope you enjoy that one ❤ I've been wanting to read I'll Give you the sun!!!! Heard nothing but good things 🙂

    Like

    1. I plan on that very soon (salutes)!
      The Darkling is just so great *dreamy sighs right along with you*
      I was so sad by the third book, I thought there might still be a chance for that ship to sail. (I hope I didn’t just spoil you)…?
      I have had the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series on my shelf far too long and I don’t understand because I really want to read it but just never felt in the mood, you know?
      Anyway, thanks for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries, you did not spoil me but honestly though I kinda had a change of heart in the end. I was like why do I suddenly like Mal but still the Darkling was whispering in my heart
        Yup, totally get that. Just don’t give up when you read DoS&B because it will be kinda slow at first due to the world building but it will be worth it! ❤

        Like

  5. Literally almost every book on this list is on my TBR dammit! I really want to read I’ll Give You the Sun, so it’s good to know someone with a similar taste to mine enjoyed it! 🙂

    Like

      1. I actually bought it for a friend a while back for her birthday, and I was so tempted to keep it! You’re welcome, you have a great blog 🙂

        Like

      2. That’s happened to me more than once too. I try not to buy many book presents unless it’s a book that I really loved and want a friend to now read because I don’t want to tempt myself.
        Thank you so much, and likewise to you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

