Tags

The ‘Would You Rather’ Book Tag

Hi everyone!

Recently, I was tagged by Shelumiel and Joey over @bookishandawesome and @thoughtsandafterthoughts respectively to do the ‘Would You Rather’ Book Tag. Thanks to them both for tagging me, please go and check out their posts:

Shelumiel’s here

Joey’s here

This seems like a fun little get-to-know-you type of tag, so without further ado, here are the questions:

Would you rather read only trilogies or only standalones?

As much as I do love a good standalone to break up the series that I read, I’m going to have to go with trilogies for this one mostly because I read quite a few of them and I enjoy getting to know a world and the characters better over the length of more books.  *Starts to think of all the perfect standalones that would be missed*

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I’m going to go with the answer that a lot of other bloggers have given this question. I’d really rather not, why does it matter after all?

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

Because I live in Australia I’m going to make Barnes and Noble equivalent to Dymocks here. Even though I do love getting books from Amazon, mainly because they are cheaper and you can get more, I’ll say Dymocks for this question because I love feeling the books and seeing them physically. Plus, I like to support the bookselling business as much as possible.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

I can definitely see why some books are perfect for TV especially if the books belong to a large series and myself and others as readers don’t mind if the plot is changed somewhat but I think overall, movies would suit the vast majority of books better. And if the books belonged to a series, each book was made into its own individual movie.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

Definitely 5 books per week. That would be awesome. The only danger to that is not appreciating the books enough because before you know it, you’re reading something completely different. But I’ll take the chance in this case. 5 pages a day would be too frustrating and slow for my tastes.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Probably an author. In this case I can still read for fun instead of critical seriousness and I can write my stories under my own discretion. Hopefully too, get people who enjoy my stories to talk to me whether on social media or otherwise. The daydream begins…

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

A bookseller. My OCD self couldn’t stand seeing all those ruined books that people returned. I’m just kidding, I could handle it, but a bookseller would be amazing especially if you could ignite someone’s passion for book buying.

Would you rather read only your favourite genre, or every other genre but your favourite?

At this point in my life I am still unsure as to what my favourite genre is, so this question poses a bit of a challenge to me. I do read a lot of contemporary so for the sake of answering this I will call this my ‘favourite genre’. In answering, I would have to say that I would rather read only contemporary. Don’t kill me! I promise I do love fantasy and dystopian and sci-fi etc. but I love to read books set in real life and hopefully relate to the situations characters are put in. Ooh, this was a tough one!

Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

Physical books! There goes my money flying out the window..

Well that was certainly interesting. I swear I learnt something even about myself answering those questions. And I’m sorry to do this, because I haven’t in a while, but I’m going with the cop-out version of tagging and saying “If you haven’t done this tag you are officially tagged!” I just used a variation of tag three times in that sentence. Sorry. 🙂

Thank you so much for reading and as always, I’ll talk to you in my next post.

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

Goodreads: Liamo’d

9 thoughts on “The ‘Would You Rather’ Book Tag

  1. Shelumiel should auto-correct to Lumi. (Hello Lumi, if you are reading this ;)!)

    I blurbed you incorrectly as I totally thought your current go-to genre obsession was fantasy-romance. Oops. Any hints to what your future (or current) writing project is about?

    Like

    1. Let’s get the autocorrect department at all electronic producing companies onto that! It’s a new day and my favourite genre today is dystopian so don’t be too worried about the blurb, (which was hilarious) it wasn’t supposed to be 100% factual, right? Hmm…as for writing projects, I was working on, before I took a bit of a break from it, a young adult (perhaps murder?) mystery. But don’t tell anyone!

      Like

  2. Yes! Dymocks is my favourite bookstore! (Because I live in Australia too, obviously.) I can almost never resist walking past it when I’m in the city.
    Great answers to this tag!

    Like

  3. Let’s daydream of receiving that call for representation and getting your first book deal and author signings together, Liam! And #noshame for liking contemporaries! It’s my favorite as of the moment, I think. And 5 pages a day is just, UGH, I can’t even. Also? Male or female authors? Like, get out of here!

    PS. I’d ask you how you’ve been but I see you’ve succumbed to the Lumi propaganda. Congratulations.

    Like

    1. It’s a fantasy that plagues me 🙂 I’d love to read whatever you came out with, probably something very profound and poignant. Author signings with people I was friends with would be so awesome! It’s so hard to pick just one genre as a favourite but yeah, I love a good contemporary. Who cares if it’s male or female? I usually don’t even notice. And I’m very well, thank you for asking.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

