Reviews

Book Review – Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott

Hi everyone!

I’m back for another book review today, this time for Victoria Scott’s Fire and Flood released just this year. Let’s get right into it.

18628138

Synopsis:

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she’s helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

Review:

I have no idea why I waited so long to read this book because it was absolutely stunning. Let’s talk characters. Firstly of course, is Tella. She was such a refreshing YA female lead. Mainly because she was her own person. When reading other people’s reviews for this book they sometimes complain about how Tella is a bit self-centred and is stupid for caring about her appearance and such but personally, I found Tella to be a great advocate for ‘be your own person’ as she isn’t ashamed to wish she had make-up in the jungle or to wonder if her butt looks big in her pants but at the same time having great spirit when it’s needed. And I loved her for it! Joining her throughout the novel is a crew of supporting characters that were so diverse. Each had their own personalities and I connected with their decisions and emotions. Guy, the main male lead, was very reserved and mysterious which made me question his trustworthiness. I loved working out whether he was worth believing in or not.  The romance between the two wasn’t too overbearing but at the same time very cute when the characters got to know one another.

The plot was very fast paced. Which overall, I think, worked well for this type of story. It added intensity to sections that had action but also had enough time for mystery and twists to be developed and appreciated. It developed well and had the perfect amount of keep-you-guessing moments to enrapture you in the storyline. By the time the story ended I was very satisfied with how things were dealt with and enough room was left open for continual development in the next books. Some may say this book is too similar to The Hunger Games but I felt as though it held its own in terms of plot as the aim of the race isn’t to kill the opposition but merely to, well, race. Something that also individualised it was the addition of Pandoras which are animals there to help the contenders survive in the race. They really added uniqueness to the story and Tella’s Pandora was just-gah! Adorable.

In terms of the world and development of setting the book seems to be set in current times but most of the story took place during the race in the jungle and the desert. These were quite well described. I still however have many questions left about how the terrains came to be etc. I hope this is explained later but for now I’m willing to not so patiently wait to get Salt and Stone.

Having read Victoria Scott’s Dante Walker series and being quite unimpressed with the writing, I was blown away by how much I found it to be ‘improved.’ Throughout the whole novel I was struggling to put it down because it was so addicting. The language and flow of the writing was so much more sophisticated and generally much more enjoyable as a reader.

Overall, the perfect action-packed story with vibes of The Hunger Games that’s filled with enjoyable characters, adorable Pandoras and intense fight scenes. I give Fire and Flood:

five-stars

There’s not a whole lot that I would change. Highly, highly recommend!

So there you have it, my thoughts on Fire and Flood. If you’ve read this book let me know what you thought of it or tell me if its on your TBR now.

As always, thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Liam

Goodreads: Liamo’d

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott

  1. Great review! I think this book is on my TBR, but now I’m officially making note that I need to check this book out, since Hunger Games was such an enjoyable book for me.

    Like

  2. Pingback: July Wrap-Up! |

Leave a Reply

