Lists · Other

June Wrap-Up!

Hi everyone!

I say this almost every month, but this month was very busy! It included some stressful exams so yes, this affected my reading and definitely my blogging. I’m on holidays for another week and a half so I’ll be posting regularly around this time and then it’s back to classes again. But I’ll try my best to keep up.

Anywho, let me tell you a bit about what I read this month.

First up was:

1. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

IMG_2238

If you want to see my full thoughts my review is here: Falling Kingdoms Book Review. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this one. In particular I loved the magic themes, especially the way they tied into various kingdoms and the people in them. I really liked getting to know these characters, all very different from one another. It was a bit confusing at times but I hope to know more by the next one. I gave this one a 4.25 Stars.

2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

Again, I posted a review for this one, full thoughts are here: A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Review. Generally I very much enjoyed this novel, however I had a few issues with it. Mainly a sometimes unlikable character and some unoriginal plot devices and themes. After a quite slow first 130 pages the story picked up and turned out to be a magical whirlwind. I gave this one: 4 Stars.

3. On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

"Complete"

Next I was in the mood for something quick to read after an intense exam period. Mistakenly, I thought this book would be the one to give me that, unfortunately I was quite disappointed with this one. The main character was so frustrating especially when it came to the love interest (who, himself, was quite annoying) and I thought the plot was extremely dry. I gave this: 2 Stars.

Lastly 4. Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

20639274

This was my favourite book of the month! It was just so inspirational. The characters had such depth and the message in this book was so wonderful. It teaches you to find your voice and believe in your strength and your capabilities. It also teaches you to appreciate the things we take for granted. I really recommend this book to people who lack confidence or who have social anxiety. This is at the top of the scale for New Adult books. I gave Archer’s Voice: 4.5 Stars.

Let’s pray for a pick up in my reading in July.

Other things that happened this month:

– I did the More Happy Than Not Tag, a fantastic original tag created by Shelumiel @Bookish and Awesome in celebration of Adam Silvera’s debut novel More Happy Than Not. Check out Shelumiel’s original post here and do the tag yourself, you’ll be enlightened!

– Marriage equality was achieved for all states in the United States, which I’m super happy about especially as it sparked a huge media uproar with the #LoveWins hashtag and because it began some further debates into changing the law here in Australia. Congrats USA!

– Wimbledon began in June and I’m so pumped to see how it all pans out. I’ve always been a bit of a Serena Williams fan but at the moment there are still some Australians in the draw so we’ll see how that goes.

– Season six of Pretty Little Liars was premiered and so far is going quite strong. Still cannot believe how dark the show has become and all the twists about the identity of ‘A’. Super excited to see the tenth episode to find out!

So there you have it, June in a nutshell. Let me know what you read this month or your thoughts on the books I read. Also, let’s discuss the non-bookish happenings of June in the comments.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post very soon!

Liam

6 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up!

  1. Woohoo for three 4-star reads! And yaaay for surviving exams week! And hooray for #lovewins! And thank you for mentioning the tag! (That’s three and‘s in case someone’s keeping records.) NOW WHERE IS MY TKAM ESSAY?

    Like

  2. I hope your exams went well! 🙂

    Ahh, I still need to read ACOTAR.

    I’m so happy that marriage equality was finally legalized all over the U.S.! My state (Indiana) already had it, although we got it only last year. But now I could get married anywhere and not have to worry about moving somewhere else and having it not be legal in that particular state! The United States is weird, man – sometimes we operate more like 50 mini countries than one cohesive country. 😛

    Like

    1. Thank you, mostly well I think! ACOTAR was pretty great but I wouldn’t sweat it, it usually takes me AGES to read new release books haha. I’m so happy for you guys in the US, Australia is really behind the eight-ball but at the moment we’ve got a homophobic Prime Minister who doubts the topic being brought up for discussion here. So frustrating considering I would say the majority support it. Oh well, I don’t think it will be long though. And I love the way the U.S is very state-proud, we have it here but not nearly the scale that it’s in over there.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Archer’s Voice was so beautiful ❤ I read your review and saw the playlist, you seem like a Taylor Swift fan haha, I am definitely one too. Everything Has Changed and Crazier are perfect, so is Tangl'd Up In You. I'm definitely a new follower!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I noticed that both of us had started our blogs around the same time, and we both blog about books.. so i’m wondering why I never came across your blog before.. but i’m so glad I finally discovered it!! ☺

        And high-five cuz u’re a swift fan!! 😃

        Like

Leave a Reply

