Lists · Other

May Wrap-Up!

Hi everyone!

Phew, these past couple of weeks have been busy!

You may or may not have noticed (I certainly missed it!) but I have been away from blogging for two weeks now. Exams are continuing to stress me out but luckily I should be all done by this Thursday. I’m really sorry about not being able to post recently but hopefully I can get to back to a ‘schedule’ very soon.

Anyway I’m sneaking in a post here to get back on track and thought I’d give you my May Wrap-Up. Because of business and a sort-of reading slump I didn’t have as much time for reading but I still read 6 books. I’ll share some brief thoughts on each as my blog has been devoid of any reviews recently and I want to get some opinions out.

1. The Hook-Up by Kristen Callihan

22611920

So I was in a total New Adult feeling this month probably because of my ability to fly through them in between studying etc. But this one left a sour taste in my mouth. I barely even remember reading it, that’s how quickly this one left my mind. I really didn’t care for the shallow characters or the dragged-out plot. Also, one word, instalove. It got 2 Stars because of its addictiveness. Unfortunately, not for me.

2. Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

15745950

Boy, I’m just realising how much NA I read! This one wasn’t quite what I was expecting. I really quite enjoyed the first book however, this ‘continuation’ is really just a retelling told in the male protagonists point of view. It had nothing really new or exciting to it so it got just an alright 3 Stars.

3. Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

16102004

What did I read next? Yep, you guessed it! New adult. *sigh*. This book is a published Twilight fanfiction, a fact I didn’t know before going into it. But I actually quite liked it, probably more than Twilight. I liked the start a lot more than the end as the characters weren’t quite what they used to be and the plot dragged a lot but it was mighty engaging (how southern of me 🙂 This one got a 3.5 Star rating.

4. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

FullSizeRender

What?! A YA book! What is this madness?

This book was a whole lot of fun. I could really relate with the main character and the development of her was really charming to read about. Mystery aspects kept it intriguing and I loved seeing Emily ticking off items on her ‘bucket’ list. I was in a reading slump during this so it was a little bit of a forced read which is why it got a 4-4.5 Star rating. But I definitely recommend! (Btw, everyone talks of it being a summer read, well it’s bordering on winter in Australia and it was still heaps of fun!)

5. The Book Of Ivy by Amy Engel

20640755

Easily the best book I read this month. Oh my lords it was amazing. I wasn’t really into it straight away, it seemed like it would be one of those underdeveloped dystopians with a predictable plot but wow, was it unpredictable. So character driven and with a huge focus on moral values it absolutely gripped me. I need the next book now (it’s a duology) because that ending ripped me apart. Obviously, 5 Stars.

And finally, 6. The Deal by Elle Kennedy

24504048

Not great, but not terrible either. The main problem with this, at least in my point of view, is that it felt like every other over-dramatic NA book that I’ve read. The characters were very entertaining (for the most part) and the plot quite addicting but nothing really special or unique jumped out at me. So-so, a 3 Star rating.

So that’s it, those are all the books that I read in May. I’d love to know what you read this month or any of your thoughts on the books I read. Hopefully back to blogging from Thursday but I should have a post up on Wednesday in the Asia-Pacific region or Tuesday everywhere else (if you know where that’s from I’ll give you a virtual cookie). Talk to you later!

Liam

*Grumpily goes back to studying*

7 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up!

  1. Aawww, hang in there dude! And yaaay for 5-star read! That cover looks really intriguing. And wow. I’ve been seeing your GR updates and all I can say is: GO TEAM NA! I’ve yet to test this water though.

    PS. WHERE’S MY TKAM ESSAY?!!!

    Like

    1. The Book Of Ivy was super intense and if you like the cover you should see the spine, it has a huge knife going up it, badass! New adult was perfect for my slumpy-I-have-no-time-to-do-anything-but-study mood, you can just never get enough they’re literally like crack!
      PPS. Essay still being graded, hang on!

      Like

  2. I love walking disaster (even thou it was in Travis POV) and beautiful bastard. You might like that other books in the series as they are not based on a fan fiction, but still have the alternating chapters.
    The book if Ivy looks really good thou. I will put that on my TBR I think.

    Like

    1. Ooh, I’ll see about the other Beautiful Bastard books. I didn’t really mind the Fanfiction thing, it was just the names from Twilight were quite funny! I really enjoyed Beautiful Disaster but Walking Disaster just felt like nothing new, still liked it though. And YES, The Book Of Ivy must be on the TBR, sooo good 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

