Tags

The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

Hi everyone!

Sorry I have been away for so long, I don’t really have a good excuse but I’ll give one anyway. School has been really busy leading up to mid-term exams and I’ve been in a huge reading and writing slump. I had no blogging ideas.

So when I was tagged by Joey @thoughtsandafterthoughts and Holly at @nutfreenerd to do the Burrito Bowl Book Tag I knew I was saved from my blogging hole. Thank you so much to Holly and Joey for letting me join in this delicious goodness and whilst I’m pretty sure we don’t have Chipotle in Australia, I do like Mexican food, so why not?

Before I get started, this tag was created by Joey and Cristina @GirlinthePages who are both awesome bloggers, check them out!

Now on to the questions:

Rice: The Foundation – The book that got you into reading or book blogging

harrypotterEbks1

I don’t know exactly what book got me into reading and I know this is a little cliché but I have always loved doing it. I will say that Harry Potter by J.K Rowling is the book series that got me passionate about reading and I will be forever a lover of fantasy because of that.

Beans: The Filler – A book with a whole lot of nothing happening

10507293

I don’t mean to offend anyone but The Selection by Keira Cass I found to be a bit of nothing. Whilst it had hints of a deep plot it never really capitalised on the opportunity to be awesome and action-packed. I did still like the book but I thought it could have been a whole lot more.

Protein: The Building Block A book quote to live by

13188676

My answer might not mean much to you but to me it means a whole lot, so don’t judge, but my bookish quote to live by is:

One day I might break. One day I might break free.

-From Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

This series just means a whole lot to me personally and in particular this quote really speaks to me.

Fajitas: The Crunch of Texture – A book with immaculate world-building

cexfnaiil-sl-book-885816282

I feel like this is my answer whenever a question comes up about world or political intrigue etc. but A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin would be hard to pass up if you’re looking for something with an epic world, not only in the actual world like The Eyrie but in the people that are a part of it.

Salsa: The Dance of Flavour – A book that kept you on your toes

Throne_of_Glass_UK

This one took me a while to think about as it’s quite hard to find a book that constantly keeps you excited and in anticipation but eventually I went with Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. The action scenes, and threat of death, and betrayal and revenge had me flipping pages like there’s no tomorrow. I really need to pick up Crown of Midnight as I hear it’s better!

Corn: The Explosion of SweetnessA memorable scene involving friendship/romance

20820994

Easy. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. This book literally had the cutest romances (one in particular I loved, no spoilers). And all the amazing angst and sadness and happiness all lead up to an amazing scene that got me misty-eyed. I’m fanboying just thinking about it now!

Cheese: The Bond of CalciumTwo characters from different books you wish could be friends

12578077          Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

This is totally weird, but I’m on the spot and couldn’t think of anything but I’m going with Katy from the Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout and Hermione Granger from Harry Potter. Katy is just the best lead ever, I mean she reads and blogs about books! I can totally picture her and Hermione discussing books and combining the two worlds in the different books to be magic BFFs. This needs to happen!

Sour Cream: The Tangy TopperThe quirkiest character you’ve ever read (protagonist or supporting)

22628

Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Charlie is quirky in a kind-of-relatable-but-still-kind-of-quirky way. I realise he has deeper issues than just being weird and I still love him as a main character but at times he could be quite strange!

Guacamole: The Cost of Creaminess – A book you paid too much for (based on utility experienced)

Harry_Potter_and_the_Order_of_the_Phoenix

Probably Harry Potter and The Order of The Phoenix by J.K Rowling. Sorry to repeat answers but this one set me back over $30. I will admit, it’s a hardback, but still…

Lettuce: The Handful of Crispness – A refreshing concept/theme in a book

16069030

I found The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski to be a very refreshing theme. Mainly because the main female protagonist was not an assassin or a spy but actually quite divided in her choices and internally struggling which at first caught me off guard. Also, the plot was very original and the storyline build up was quite an exciting premise to read about.

Chips: Le Pièce de Résistance – A must-read recommendation if you like [this book/genre—you decide!]

A lot of the books in this post I would recommend, but I actually won’t dive any deeper than that as I’m thinking about starting a recommendation series.

Tabasco: The Kick to the FaceYour favourite fight/action sequence

10212034

This would have to be Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I had no idea where this was leading up to and then BAM! an awesome battle scene slaps you across the face. One of my favourite parts of this book and honestly it alone boosted up the end rating.

I’m going to wrap this up because now I really need to eat! 🙂

Thank you once again to Holly and Joey for tagging me and thank you so much for reading!

I’ll tag a few people, I’m not really sure who has done this but it is relatively new so Tag you’re it to:

Kayleigh @Miserable and Magical

Alina @RadiantReads

Parneet @The Enchanted Book

If you agree or disagree with my choices in this post I would love to hear your thoughts on the tag. Talk to you in my next post!

Always,

Liam

Let’s be friends:

Goodreads: Liamo’d

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

14 thoughts on “The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

  1. Reading your answers really makes me want to read I’ll Give You the Sun!! I read and enjoyed Jandy Nelson’s other book The Sky is Everywhere, but for some reason I just haven’t gotten around to reading her newest one. Anyways, great answers!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Yes, you totally should! I’ll Give You The Sun was amazing. It’s the opposite for me though, I loved IGYTS but I haven’t gotten around to reading The Sky is Everywhere. I want to get on that very soon. Thanks again for the tag 😉

      Like

  2. I’m not even surprised HP appeared in your list a few times. 🙂 But I really, really, REALLY want to read I’ll Give You the Sun! I think it’s the kind of book that’ll easily get a strong five-star from me, based on what I’ve been seeing in the internet and from people whose opinion I value. I also agree with A Game of Thrones! (Side question: do you watch the TV series?) And yaaay for the TPOBAW shout-out!

    PS. I hope you nailed your exams, Liam!

    Like

    1. Harry Potter will forever be a favourite! I’ll Give You the Sun is perfection but don’t go in expecting a five star rating, I don’t want you to then not enjoy it as much as you thought you would. I have only read and watched the first A Game of Thrones series because I was going to continue the books and watch the show at the same time but never got to it. Unfortunately, exams are still to come but thank you, I hope I do too!

      Like

      1. It’s okay to watch the show, really. I’m only in Book 4 but I’ve heard Season 5 has shifted course dramatically already from the books. And there’s a chance GRRM might not finish the series? Or even if he gets to it, HBO is definitely finishing it first. And let’s admit it, the books demand SO MUCH TIME.

        Like

      2. I’m definitely thinking about it. A lot of my friends watch it and talk about it but I don’t know, I guess I was just doing my book lover duty by wanting to read the books first. And yes, I heard GRRM has already told the producers what he is planning to do so they can finish the tv show if he doesn’t finish the books, that would be a shame….

        Like

Leave a Reply

