Tags

The Reader Problems Tag!

Hi everyone!

So I just realised I hadn’t done a tag yet all month, which is strange because I love doing them, so when I remembered that I got tagged to do the Reader Problems Tag earlier this month I thought, what better opportunity?

Now I was tagged by Joey over at @thoughtsandafterthoughts. I’m sure you’ve heard of him because he’s amazing but if for some reason you haven’t please do go and check out his blog!

Now on to the questions which revolve around some very relatable problems the avid reader faces:

1) You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I, like many others who have answered this question, am a person who picks the next book based on mood. However, if I have been excited about a certain book for a while I’ll usually pick it up very soon even if I’m not in that exact mood.

2) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

It really depends on how much I am ‘not loving it’. If nothing is happening, the characters are keeping me interested and the writing is pretty bad then I’ll probably stop and use my time to read something I will actually like. On the flip side if I feel as though it is going somewhere I’ll most likely continue on.

3) The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, yet so far away on your Goodreads Reading Challenge. Do you quit or commit?

Probably commit. I’ve only had a reading goal once before this year and I blew it away so I guess that boosted my confidence. Once again, this year I’m ahead of my goal. In that situation I’d most likely read as a priority and read shorter books. I’m not an uber-competitive person but I need some success in my life even if it is just reaching a reading goal!

4) The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I will try my hardest to get matching covers but if I don’t succeed I’ll probably deal with it because if I really wanted to read the book, the cover shouldn’t get in my way of a good story.

5) Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I would probably go to goodreads and find a negative, gif-filled review and laugh at this stranger’s hilarious ramblings all the while totally relating to what they’re saying and wishing they were in your life so you could bond over shared thoughts. That’s an abridged version, but in a nutshell that’s what I’d do…

6) You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I’ve only cried maybe three or four times reading a book and never was I reading it in public. But you know what? I would bawl my eyes out in public and get weird looks because if the book meant that much to me who cares who sees you crying?

#bookpride

7) A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find the synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

I hate it when a first book is released and the next one isn’t scheduled for a whole year or something, it really bugs me. To be honest I would just re-read it, as the question says, you loved it so why not? If I really can’t be bothered I’ll either watch a polandbananasBOOKS video on Youtube or read a summary on the internet.

8) You do not want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I actually have a very small group of people that I would let borrow books from me. If it’s a hardcover, it would be of course without the dust jacket. Anyone else and I would just say ‘No, I don’t lend my books out.’ Not too hard.

9) You’ve picked up and put down five books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

Pick up light-hearted books that I don’t really have to concentrate for. This has worked for me in the past. I’ll find one that I actually really enjoyed (usually part of a series) and continue on, love that and BAM! you are out of a reading slump.

10) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

As many as I can that won’t send me broke (so realistically, 2). Or else, I’ll wait till I have a voucher to make someone else pay for my books muahahahaha!

11) After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Not very long. At most maybe a few months. If I’m really excited for them I can never wait too long. However, I have been in the predicament when I’ve bought a book I was excited for at the time but didn’t read it and didn’t read it until I no longer had any desire to pick it up. Very sad 😦

So that’s it, those were the questions and answers. I’ve seen so many people do this tag I feel as though I’m late to the bandwagon so I’ll just tag anyone who wants to do this. You’re it!

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Always,

Liam

2 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag!

  1. Pingback: April Wrap-Up! |

Leave a Reply

