Lists · Other

March Wrap-Up!

Hi everyone!

March has come and gone in a flash. It was quite a busy month for me in terms of school and home and this definitely affected my reading a bit however I still did manage to complete five books this month which I’ll share all my thoughts on.

1. Ali’s Pretty Little Lies by Sara Shepard- Finished 1st of March

Alis-Pretty-Little-Lies-Book-Cover

This novel is the prequel to the Pretty Little Liars series (you may recognise the TV show), told from the point of view of Alison DiLaurentis before the events leading up to her murder. It’s a must read after you’ve completed the first eight books as it really gives you an insight into her life and why she did the things she did. At the end you just think ‘ooohhh’, which made me happy. I gave this book 5 Stars and would definitely recommend this to lovers of the series.

2. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo- Finished March 9th

IMG_1931

I was super excited to dive back into this world after finishing a highly enjoyable Shadow and Bone. However I was slightly disappointed with this one and felt a bit of a step down. I gave it 3.25 Stars.

See my full review here: Siege and Storm

3. Kaleidoscope Hearts by Claire Contreras- Finished 13th of March

23545800

I was in the mood for some New Adult (which I have been getting into recently) and I’d heard some good things about this novel. Upon starting it, I was very pleasantly surprised with how much I was enjoying it. The characters were funny and likeable, the dialogue witty however I felt it get directionless and repetitive as it went on. I gave it 3.5 Stars.

See my full review here: Kaleidoscope Hearts

4. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee- Finished 20th of March

51grMGCKivL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book took me a very long time to finish.

*Goodreads review*: It took me a long time to figure out my feelings about my rating, and to be honest I’m still not quite sure. For the most part I really liked the story, the second part quite a bit more than the first. I found I was much more genuinely interested in the trial than the introduction of the characters at the start. Boo Radley was interesting and mysterious, but not that interesting to make up for a bit of a slow start. The town’s stories didn’t get me immersed into the story and I guess the writing style had a bit to do with these feelings. It wasn’t that impressive. This is where I think the rating becomes hard to place. People have told me and told me that this book changed their lives and will surely change mine and upon completion, my feelings aren’t nearly as ecstatic as I was expecting. Expectations kill stories sometimes. However, I really liked the character development and the plot through the second part. I became more and more intrigued and characters got fleshed out a little more. The trial was fascinating! This is a book that really holds so many good messages in it and that’s why the rating got bumped up in the end. It wasn’t particularly life changing but it taught me something and that’s what I’ll walk away with.

I gave it 4 Stars.

5. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo- Finished March 27th

IMG_1932-0

My feelings were similar to Siege and Storm. I really enjoyed the first 150 pages but then the slow pacing began to set in again. The plot dragged and  the characters weren’t learning from their mistakes. And then, the intense battle scene kicked in and I was back into the story, only to be disappointed by the overall ending to this series. It left me very sad after all the time I put into reading it. I gave it 3.5 Stars.

So those were the five books that I read this month. I’ve almost completed my first book in April already so a good start to the month. What did you read this month? What are your thoughts on the books I read? Let me know!

March blog posts: (Reviews linked under the books)

Day and Night Book Tag!

Writing Struggles

Book Tag Catch-Up

My Childhood Books

In other news, I also joined Bloglovin’ this month which was exciting as it’s much more convenient to follow your favourite blogs there.  You can follow me here.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post which should be coming soon! 🙂

Always,

Liam

5 thoughts on “March Wrap-Up!

  1. For the most part, my problem too with Shadow and Bone is the pacing. Gaaah. And now you’re done, but the stars are meager. I hope the world-building rewards me through reading Books 2 and 3.

    PS. I hope your trip (this Thursday, right?) goes awesome!

    Like

    1. Shadow and Bone is definitely my favourite of the three. The world building is probably my favourite part of the series but yeah, the pacing is an issue. I actually just got back from my trip so that’s why I’m so late to reply 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

