Discussion · Lists

My Childhood Books

Hi everyone!

This post was inspired when I was forced to move some books off my shelf to make room for ones I deemed more important or of higher interest to me. These books that were removed were mainly childhood books, bad books or cheap books I bought from a book sale a couple of years ago that I’ve either read and didn’t enjoy or will never read. They were placed, sadly, in a cupboard as I’m yet to get another bookshelf to cover my increasing number of books. When I took them off the shelf, I thought back to the times I’d read these books and decided to share some of my favourite books that I read as a child. These are the stories that turned a hobby into a passion.

The first book was not moved off the shelf because it’s one of sentimental value to me but it is:

The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo

The_Tale_of_Despereaux

This novel was absolutely magical in my eyes when I read it. An aunty who is a librarian gifted it to me when I was young and I believe it’s one of the books that started my love of reading. The characters were so intricate and real and the plot interwove so perfectly that I couldn’t put it down. Its messages are so strong and helpful. I’ve read it multiple times since the first time and I still love it to this day.

Tashi Books by Anna and Barbara Fienberg and Kim Gamble

the-big-big-big-book-of-tashi

Magic was a bit of a childhood theme obviously as these books are full of the most hilarious and action-packed magical stories you’ll ever read. Each adventure was better than the last when you read one of these huge books filled with several stories following the main character Tashi who battles dragons, ghosts, demons and giants. He was cunning and brave and everything you want to be when you’re a kid growing up. It felt good reading some of these stories again.

Children of the Red King series by Jenny Nimmo

16132671

More magic *sigh*. No wonder Harry Potter’s my favourite. These books are fantasy adventure books that follow children who are descendants of a red king. They live at a special school where they are sorted into ‘houses’ of music, drama and art. The descendants are endowed with special gifts such as speaking to animals, invisibility and telekinesis. Each book has a new problem that the children must solve involving various evil figures both in the school and out. It’s an eight book series that took me a few years to complete but I loved nonetheless.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis

200px-ScholasticNarnia

This is more of an older child series as if you read them when you are 8 or something you’d have no idea what the author was saying. These books are just so amazing I can’t even explain my love for them. They’re filled with magic, action and just generally addicting good vs evil awesomeness. You become so attached to the characters and whilst the writing might be a little hard to understand when you’re young, it still manages to draw you in and not let go. If you haven’t read this series I would strongly suggest trying them. The last book, however, was a bit of a disappointment. I try to forget that one…

Finally, The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi

spiderwick-set-1-5

This is the story of the Grace children who move to a new house and come across a field guide that gives them knowledge about various faerie creatures living near the house and the evil Mulgarath who threatens to use the guide for his own evil purposes. Phew that sounds like one hell of a story, and let me tell you that it is! As a child reading this, it felt like the best thing since sliced bread. The tension and action were entrancing and after reading the first book I went out and borrowed the rest from the library straight away.

So there you go, those are some of my favourite childhood books! Let me know what your favourites were, I’d be extremely interested to know. Or tell me if you enjoyed any of the books I mentioned as a kid.

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Always,

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

Goodreads: Liamo’d

*I do not own the feature image, it was found here: http://www.lifeisstory.com/page/10/
4 thoughts on “My Childhood Books

    1. Spideriwick is great! I have read the Series of Unfortunate Events but I can’t remember if I finished or which ones I read because there got to be so many. I remember really liking them though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

