Reviews

Kaleidoscope Hearts-Claire Contreras Review

Hi everyone!

I’m back for another book review! This one is for the contemporary/new adult/romance book by Claire Contreras called Kaleidoscope Hearts. I was looking for a romance book because I was in need of a pick me up and these types of books always work for me. I’d heard mixed reviews up until I watched a video by a BookTuber that I love who adored it so that’s what made me pick it up. Unfortunately, whilst I did enjoy it, it wasn’t the great romance I really wanted.

Synopsis:

He was my older brother’s best friend.
He was never supposed to be mine.
I thought we would get it out of our system and move on.

One of us did.
One of us left.

Now he’s back, looking at me like he wants to devour me. And all those feelings I’d turned into anger are brewing into something else, something that terrifies me.
He broke my heart last time.
This time he’ll obliterate it.

Review:

The first thing that really hit me was the art component of the story. It’s what initially drew me in and got me enjoying the story. And while I’m no artist myself and have no knowledge of it, I know what I like and the art in this story was very refreshing. Imagining the creations that were talked about really drew me in and hot my imagination firing.

This is a romance book, so let’s talk about the romance. Off the bat, I liked it much more at the beginning then at the start. The beginning held smouldering looks and sexual tension that we all love but they constantly talked about not pushing the relationship too far for fear of the female protagonists’ brother not accepting them! Like, what? I can understand a few reservations over the man being a bit of a player but they held back because of what the brother would say. This got very frustrating over the course of around 300 pages. I did however, like the development of the relationship and thought it was well paced. There were so cute and swoon worthy bits that kept me very entertained.

Now, the main character. For the most part I really liked her. She was relatable and nice and as I said, I really loved her artwork but I wouldn’t exactly say she was ‘strong’. She would convince herself that she wouldn’t let Oliver (the love interest) touch her or get to her until she understood him and his motives and then she’d go on anyway and kiss him. Like, I don’t mind a kissing scene but I also like a strong character and this flimsy decision making happened again and again and again. I also felt at times that the secondary characters were a bit shallow. For example whenever Estelle’s (the main character) brother had friends over they would just talk about the failing relationships they had and would flirt with Estelle annoyingly when her brother said not to. And that’s it! That’s all they talked about. I did like Mia, Estelle’s best friend because she was straightforward and funny (a lethal combination 🙂 Oliver, the male lead, had a few chapters which were told from the past. I loved how the two timelines interwove as we discovered their relationship’s beginning and end. Oliver’s character was also very enjoyable to read about. There was more to him then just his romantic interest in Estelle which is hard to come by in romance books and I found his character hit close to home for me.

The plot, however, progressed at a very slow pace. I screamed into my book for the characters to just get past their past mistakes and move on but alas. In the end it felt like it was going round in circles.

Overall a good story of second chances and artistic love but wasn’t the perfect romance I was looking for.

I gave this book: 3.5 out of 5 Stars.

3-5-stars

Thanks so much for reading. If you’ve read this book let me know your thoughts in the comments and I’ll see you in my next post.

Always,

Liam.

One thought on “Kaleidoscope Hearts-Claire Contreras Review

Leave a Reply

