Reviews

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo [Mini Review]

Hi everyone!

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted because I went away, but I thought I’d jump back into it with a mini review. I won’t go in depth as this is the second book in a trilogy so I want to avoid spoilers but I’ll try to get my thoughts across.

Siege and Storm is the second book in the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I dove straight into it after finishing a very enticing Shadow and Bone and perhaps this was a bit of a mistake. I was ready for non-stop action, kick-butt characters and great writing. For the most part this book delivered but I was also a bit let down.

I really couldn’t get into it despite me trying and trying to persist. It dragged right after about the first 60 pages almost as though the author herself didn’t know where the storyline was going, until everything rushed at the audience all at once in a trying-to-redeem-nothing-happening kind of way. The plot was quite predictable and slow moving. Not to spoil, but once you understand a certain aspect of the book, the direction becomes very clear. Something that grew on me from the first book was the flat romance. It got so frustrating. It was boring and shallow and the main character has feelings for three different guys and she still hasn’t decided who she likes best even though we’re up to the second book. Come on, get it together! Also, the characters felt very different from the first book. The heroine felt dry and timid compared to the stubborn and cunning character we are introduced to in the first instalment.

However, I did enjoy the political side to the story. It added a whole other dimension that kept me intrigued. Even though the main character changed, this wasn’t always for the worst as we also got to see a powerful and more driven character which I enjoyed. The magic continued to keep me excited and the world development was much more substantial. We are introduced to some great new characters that drove the story along and the writing was sharp and consistent.

Overall, a good continuation to the Grisha trilogy and a satisfying novel. I will be continuing the series to see what happens in the final instalment. I would still recommend this book to lovers of fantasy and mythical worlds.

I gave this book: 3 and a half Stars.

3-5-stars

Thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post. Let me know your thoughts on these books. Hopefully I’ll have another review coming soon!

Always,

Liam

3 thoughts on “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo [Mini Review]

Leave a Reply

