Lists · Tags

The Bookalicious Book Tag!

Hi everyone!

Thank god it’s the weekend, I could not have dealt with one more hour of school. I’ve had so much work to do recently and have just been generally busy with family and friends. I thought today I might do something fun and light-hearted as a bit of a week end pick-me-up. I also thought it might be a little insight into my bookish preferences. This tag has been floating around for a while now but I only recently came across it, it looks like a lot of fun so here it is: The Bookalicious Tag!

1. What percentage of books do you get from the library and what percentage do you get elsewhere?

1% Library, 99% elsewhere. This is actually quite sad because I do like a good library but my closest one just isn’t the best and I prefer to just have my own books to have and to hold. I used to go to the library a lot when I was younger but then I started getting money and well, bookstores were raided!  🙂

2. What character would you want to be and why?

Pretty much any human being that ever went to Hogwarts. What booklover doesn’t dream about their own Hogwarts acceptance letter?

3. What is your favourite childhood book?

Any Roald Dahl book really but I remember especially loving The Witches and Matilda, I couldn’t put either down! Harry Potter came along a few years later.

4. What is your favourite book?

I literally can’t pick my favourite book, I couldn’t narrow it down to just one but here are a few that are right up the top: Harry Potter, Ignite Me, I’ll Give You The Sun, Pretty Little Liars etc.

5. Which book series do you have the most books of?

That would be the Pretty Little Liars books by Sara Shepard, I just love them so much! I own 11 of the books. Books 0.5 up to book 10. If you haven’t read these please give them a go!

6. Do you buy used books?

I buy used books only occasionally, most of the time they are new but if there is a second-hand book sale or a nearby Salvo’s I can’t resist popping in for a look around.

7. What is your favourite book cover?

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. The eyes on all of these covers are just stunning.

8. What is your favourite type of book covers?

Beautiful ones that stay the same throughout the whole series!!

9. What was the first book you read?

I have no idea, I’ve been reading for most of my life. Probably some children’s book that had lots of pictures and superheroes.

10. What is your favourite book to movie adaptation?

Oooh this is a hard one. I love Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, I also loved The Book Thief and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. That’s a really hard question, any of these could be my favourite.

11. When did you start blogging?

I made a blog two years ago but as soon as I made it I didn’t like what I’d done with it, I abandoned ship. I started this second blog only in December last year and have fell in love with it. I love my fellow bloggers and the discussions we can have about our passion of books. It’s been a joy to blog!

12. Where is the best place to read?

I don’t know about the best place, but I usually read in bed. It’s comfortable, I have focused light and it isn’t noisy. Perfect!

13. Have you written your own fan fiction or a book?

Yes but I won’t tell you the name because I don’t want anyone seeing it, its terrible really. I am always trying to get ideas down because I also love to write but I can never stay committed until the very end despite having a planned out storyline. It’s a struggle.

14. If you could only read three books for the rest of your life what would they be?

Is this some kind of planned torture! This question is sooo tricky. I’ll say Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Ignite Me and Jane Eyre just to throw a classic in but this decision will definitely have changed by tomorrow!

15. What is the longest book that you have read?

Looking at my shelf I’d have to say either Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix or Under the Dome.

16. If you were to write a book what would the title be and why?

This would completely depend on the book I was writing, I don’t just have a generic title hanging around that I would call just any book that I write, it would have to suit the story and the plot.

17. How many books did you read last month?

11. If you want to see what I read here is the link to my January Wrap-Up: https://liamslibrary.wordpress.com/2015/02/01/january-wrap-up/ 1

8. What is the last book you read?

A part from just some pretty bad fan fictions and paranormal stories on the internet the last actual book I read was Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.

19. Do you fantasise yourself in books you like?

All of the time! Especially in books like Harry Potter (I would be practicing magic 24/7) or in books that require the characters to think differently or outside the box like in The Hunger Games or Divergent. This is one of my favourite pastimes as a book nerd.

20. What is your favourite book store?

Living in Australia and being a book buyer is seriously a problem. Books are so expensive here, we don’t have good covers, we don’t have decently stocked bookshops ugh! I’d say the best is Dymocks though, at least they have a teen section that isn’t 10 years old.

21. Hardback or paperback?

Probably paperback. I own a lot more paperbacks than hardbacks. Because I treat my books so carefully I don’t really worry about them being damaged. Plus I like having the cover attached to the book, on hardbacks it just comes off like a slip. Paperbacks are lighter, you can fit more on a shelf overall, paperbacks!

22. Do you have more than one copy of the same book?

Yes, here are the ones I can think of. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck, Lord of the Flies by William Golding, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi.

23. Would you rather read about vampires or werewolves?

It depends on the content of the book. I find that generally vampire books are pulled off more classily but I don’t know. How good is the writing? Is the plot engaging? Are the characters more than one-dimensional?

24. Do you own more than 150 books?

Ummm……..yes?

Well, this was a lot of fun to do, and it had really good questions. I tag everyone who reads this post to do the tag!!

As always, thank you so much for reading and I’ll talk to you in my next post.

Always,

Liam.

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

Goodreads: Liamo’d

*I do not claim to own any images used in this post. The featured image was taken from this source: http://i1309.photobucket.com/albums/s633/eenlettermeergraag/Bookalicious_zps485e3966.jpg~original

11 thoughts on “The Bookalicious Book Tag!

  1. I love, love, LOVE To Kill a Mockingbird! Harper Lee actually kindled my love of reading (yeah, I started very late) and I couldn’t be happier. 🙂 Also, The Perks of Being a Wallflower! So much love for these two. I have Shadow and Bones in my to-read-like-really-read-next pile, and I’m waiting for my copy of I’ll Give You the Sun. Stoked for both, but more so with the latter. And I’m glad it’s among your favorite books! (Plus, she tweeted you? YAAAY!) So yeah. Happy reading! xx

    Like

    1. I was so excited when Jandy Nelson tweeted me, I was literally jumping around! I’m currently reading To Kill A Mockingbird for school so we’ll see how that goes. I’ll Give You The Sun was amazing and Shadow and Bone was also a pleasant surprise. Have fun reading those ones!!

      Like

      1. Thanks, Liam! Tell me your thoughts after you’re done? I’d be interested to hear whether you like it or not. And no pressure. I don’t suddenly go ballistic to people who hate my favorite books (not that I’m saying you’d hate TKAM, but whatever, okay I’m gonna shut up now).

        PS. Authors tweeting back are the awesomest!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg yes….about the bookstores. Actually Borders was better until they all closed down. Angus & Robertson wasn’t so bad (though I can’t really remember their teen section). But yeah, Dymocks is the best at the moment, and the one that was nearest to me closed down recently without any notice! >.< Still annoyed at that lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

