Lists · Other · Tags

Bookish Pet Peeves

Hi everyone!

I’m a very obsessive person, especially when it comes to my books.
*Insert Smeagol: ‘My precious’ quote here*
So I thought it might be fun to share my sometimes-crazy-control-freakish bookish pet peeves.

1. Cracked Spines
This one is one of my biggest pet peeves. I’ve tried to rationalise with myself for many a year about how it makes the book look read and loved but I can never bring myself to destroy the spine of my books. I can’t deal with seeing cracked books and I even have a few on my shelves that I’ve almost replaced or even considered getting rid of because they have cracked spines. (Told you I was a bit crazy).
Exhibit A:

IMG_1995

2. Cover Changes
Why oh why do publishers do this? Okay, I know why they do it but I can never understand when they take beautiful covers and then change them into ugly covers, do they think that will sell the book? I don’t think so. I once again have an example of this on my shelves.
Exhibit B:

IMG_1997

3. Size Changes
This pet peeve is one I’ve semi come to grips with. I can handle size changes but I still don’t understand why publishers do it. Basically, I just want my series to match, is that too much to ask? Once again, will changing the size of books really make that much of a distance on the book sales?
Exhibit C:

IMG_1998

4. Dog-earing or drawing in pages
Are people who do this even human? Nah, I’m just kidding but seriously I’ve used tissues as bookmarks before. Chewing gum wrappers, the corner off a bit of paper, anything! I don’t know why this bugs me so much because it’s not my books getting damaged but treat those trees with respect! As for writing in books, why do people do this? Sometimes my english teacher will tell us to highlight our books or write analytical notes in the margins. Fat chance!
(There shall be no photo for this one as I do not do either of these things. And neither should you!)

And lastly,
5. Any other embellishments or damaged parts of a book
I feel like crying whenever I almost drop my book and try to catch it but accidentally bend the cover in the process. It’s happened before and I can just barely handle it. Or sometimes in bookstores you see marks on books where people have (I hope unknowingly) scratched the covers. Broken heart.
Exhibit D:

IMG_2001

Wow, okay, writing this has made me realise how crazily psychotic I am. 😉
I don’t mean offence if you do any of these things, it’s just personal preference and I am trying to get better at dealing with book changes.

As always, thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!

Liam

Twitter: @liamslibrary83

Goodreads: Liamo’d

9 thoughts on “Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Personally, I find softcovers a lot easier to break into than hardcovers. Like, a lot a lot, to the point where it just happens and I don’t even notice it. Hardcovers, on the other hand, I treat like a newborn and coddle it. Then when I lend hardcovers out I never forget to throw in a “remember, you could also take the dust jacket off…” Yeah, I’m a terrible friend LOL.

    Cheers,
    Joey

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes, cover changes…I have a different edition for each of my Delirium novels, thankfully they are all the same size! (My divergent books though….two UK covers with the first being the US cover AND bigger than the other two–so annoying!)

    Like

      1. Lol, yeah that totally sucks. I don’t know why they can’t keep it uniform in stores….I really had wanted all my Divergent covers the same, but well, I do like the UK covers. I’m just glad my Study series is all the same!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Are you sure we aren’t related somehow? I used to freak out upon discovering a teeny weeny indication in the spine that I may be opening the book too much, y’know? I’d sit seething and getting mad at myself for minutes and minutes. BUT. Luckily, I’ve a self-diagnosed OCPD and this doesn’t happen often. So over time, I got over it.

    I can also relate to number 2, ESPECIALLY when it’s not even for a new printing (like 10th year anniversary or whatnot). One of my favorite books, Guardian by Alex London, doesn’t match its sibling in the duology, Proxy! And the same goes with number 3. But I think this sample I’m about to cite has more to do with my friend’s purchasing skill. You see, a friend gave me Rick Riordan’s The Son of Neptune and it doesn’t match the rest of my books in the series. *Facepalm.*

    As for writing in books, I’ve thought about trying marginalia but I was always afraid the thoughts I’ll write would be too plain, dumb even. Also, I get a hard time getting back to a reading rythm so I don’t really heed to distractions if I can prevent them. I take notes of passages by typing in the page numbers in my phone tho.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We must be! I used to sometimes spend more time freaking out about how the spine would look rather than what was happening in the novel. Like you, I’m trying really hard to get over it and move on, it doesn’t really matter after all but cover changes are annoying as for writing in books…well… 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

