Reviews

I’ll Give You The Sun – Jandy Nelson [Mini Book Review]

Hi everyone!

I’m back from my mini summer holiday and I managed to read three books plus a bit more of a fourth. But more of that in my monthly wrap-up. One of the books I read whilst away was I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. Here are my thoughts on the novel:

Synopsis: Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This book had a bit of living up to do. I’d heard many fantastic things by various bloggers and Booktubers alike.

And by god, it delivered!

I’d better stop typing so fast and calm down before I go off into a full-blown rant. Let’s start with the characters.

So Noah, wow I could relate. We meet a boy falling in love for the first time and being allowed to express himself in all his quirky glory. It was heart-warming to see him come into himself and be there with him as he deals with his life and his feelings. He really develops from being the shy, introverted kid into a boy in love and not afraid to admit it. He also develops from being the person everybody picks on to finally someone who stands up for themselves and what they want. I totally connected to his character and he became one of my favourites I’ve read of all time. Whilst I enjoyed the interchanging chapters equally, Noah especially stood out.

Jude, at the start, had a very heartbreaking side to the story. She had definitely changed from the extroverted, courageous girl from Noah’s chapter into a hypochondriac, a paranoid person seeing visions of deceased people. She overcomes many obstacles and also begins to fall in love. Overall, both these characters told their stories with passion which totally made me fall in love with Jandy Nelson’s writing style.

Speaking of the writing, Jandy manages to write a contemporary novel while consistently managing an air of suspense and intrigue. I was sucked into the story from the very first page. The plot was addicting, I wanted to know how the children would find their way back to each other and deal with all their issues. Things are revealed to the children that shocked me (I hate guessing things early), which I loved! The romantic writing was flowing and swoon-worthy and damn some of those metaphors, so vivid! I can’t wait to read The Sky is Everywhere so I can witness the writing again.

There’s not much more I can say to convince you that you must read this book. It was perfection, one of the best contemporary books I’ve ever read. If it wasn’t obvious I rated this book:

five-stars

Sorry this wasn’t the best review but I just wanted to quickly share my thoughts. My monthly wrap-up will be coming soon where I’ll talk more fully about all the books I read.

Thank you so much for reading,

Liam

3 thoughts on “I’ll Give You The Sun – Jandy Nelson [Mini Book Review]

Leave a Reply

