Reviews

Scarlet- Marissa Meyer [Book Review]

Hi everyone!

I have a quick review for you today. I’ve literally just finished this book and jumped right on to my blog to write this.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. Here are my thoughts:

Summary: Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling instalment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Review: This book blew me away! I was not expecting to love it as much as I did as I gave the first book four stars. I have a bit of an issue with book sequels that centre on a different character to the first book but I totally forgave Marissa Meyer within 10 pages of starting this book. I got hooked on the story so quickly. The sci-fi spin on a fairy-tale continues to pleasantly surprise me. Whilst it does make the story a bit predictable, this instalment kept me guessing.

The characters in this story are some of my favourites I’ve ever read about. Scarlet was a great female heroin, strong, independent and driven. And Wolf! I loved how he was so timid and shy, it added so much depth to a character readers expect will only be carnal and animalistic. Together, this duo kicked butt! The romance here was slow-burning, making it very realistic especially as these two characters had only just met when romantic feelings start developing. On Cinder’s side of the story, Thorne was another great character. His witty one-liners had me laughing out loud. Also, I didn’t realise how much I missed Iko until (she?) came back with all the sass she had before. Cinder also continued to be a very fun character to read about.

The plot kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time despite me hearing that some people found the start a bit slow. I can’t say I agree, I was hooked from the start. The sequenced chapters were timed very well, I only wish we got to see how Cinder and Thorne got to Paris to save Scarlet. Otherwise, the Queen’s army aspect was very interesting (won’t say more because of spoilers) and the world building- whilst not as substantial as Cinder- kept me quenched, for now! I also wish Marissa Meyer explained technology in the story a bit more. Most is quite understandable but lacking details in their functions left me confused at some points. The author wrote good action scenes and the strong-willed made these especially dynamic.

Overall, this book got 5/5 Stars from me. Barely anything bad words to say about this book and I’ll be not-so-patiently waiting to read Cress (why didn’t I look ahead and get this book in advance). This instalment was the perfect dose of action, sci-fi, romance and fairytale awesomeness.

As always, thank you very much for reading! See you in my next post.

Goodreads

Twitter

Leave a Reply

