Other

Reading Goals 2015

Hi everyone!

I’m not the type of person that likes to challenge myself too much in terms of the books I read because I feel confined and restricted, so this year I decided to do something simple as it will still allow me to read freely. I’ve made up five small rules for myself to follow for the coming year. In 2014 I didn’t have a reading challenge at all after a disastrous 2013 reading year, this time I’m taking baby steps forward and doing something small. The idea is that you set goals for yourself in terms of what you read throughout the whole year, sort of like the Bookish Resolutions challenge. These are my five choices:

  1. Read six classics this year

I’ve been rather slack in reading classics over the course of this year and I really want to step out of my genre comfort zone. I believe I only read two in 2014. I’m raising it up to six. I could potentially do more but like I said I’m taking baby steps.

2.  Read 70 books this year

Again this is a baby step for me after reading 60ish books in 2014. I felt like I could have done more so I’ll stretch myself (marginally) this year.

3.  Read a book by an author I’ve never read before every month

After all, this is the way to discover new genres and new favourites, not to mention it will help develop my writing.

4.  Participate in three read-a-thons over the year

I’ve never formally done one of these before so I’m excited to try something new. There are a lot of fun-sounding ones out there, hopefully BookTube will help me discover all the different challenges that I can participate in.

5.  Review twenty-five books over the course of the year

I hope to keep reviewing books on my blog because I find them a challenge to write but at the same time fun to complete. As a mini resolution I also hope to blog at least two times a week throughout the year.

So those are my five Bookish resolutions. Again, this isn’t an official thing, I’m just trying to challenge myself a bit this year.  Let me know what you plan to do for the coming reading year.

As always, thank you for reading.

2 thoughts on “Reading Goals 2015

Leave a Reply

