Reviews

Prodigy- Marie Lu [Book Review]

Prodigy_Marie_Lu_Book

Synopsis:

With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation to give voice to a people silenced for far too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if, truly, the new Elector can change the Republic for the better? What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

Marie Lu is continuing to surprise me after carrying on the great work she started in Legend into this even better (in my opinion) book. Yes, I enjoyed this instalment even more than the first. Here are my thoughts:

Characters: 4/5 Stars

Although this still being a very good rating, it is still a star down from my review for Legend. Whilst it is obvious that characters are going to change and grow I just felt the characters in this book lacked some of the drive and determination from the first novel especially at the start. In the beginning I found myself favouring June’s chapters a bit more, I think I found that she organised her thoughts a little better. Upon digging deeper into the storyline it was quite obvious there were lots of characters that readers would find difficult to trust such as Anden and Razor and Kaede. I was part annoyed and part sad that I found myself disliking Tess, especially after the first book in which she seemed like the only character that was purely gentle and kind. I did enjoy reading about the characters personal struggles with their own morals and finding out where their loyalties lied. Overall Marie Lu drew me into the characters lives again very well!!

Plot: 5/5 Stars

Most people I think, would find the plots of these books very hard to fault. They are fast-paced, full of action and especially in this case betrayal and sacrifice. They really have the whole package. The plot was magnified by the characters and their interwoven storylines that keep you on the edge of your seat, you always wanted to know what was going to happen next. However I did find that at times the romance at the start was quite rushed. Day points out that they’ve only known each other for a few weeks and already he claims love? I was a bit confused. But this didn’t deduct from the storyline. I also enjoyed (if you’ve read my Legend review you would understand why) finding out more about the Patriots and the Colonies. In the first novel I felt a bit left in the dark in these aspects but Marie Lu cleared up many of my questions in this book. Very satisfied!

World building/development: 5/5 Stars

As said before, I enjoyed finding out more about the Patriots and the Colonies. This definitely added to the world building and allowed my imagination to put the puzzle together and work out what was happening and why in this dystopian world. It added substantially to the depth of the book. Marie Lu continued to use descriptive language very well in this instalment. It always surprises me, as these books are quite small, how much description is put in them alongside the plot development. Very well done by the author! This language again allowed me to imagine the world more vividly and let my imagination go further than the previous book.

Writing: 4.5/5 Stars

As I said in my general thoughts on the books I found myself favouring June’s chapters a little bit more at the start. She seemed a bit more certain and likeable (generally) here. It didn’t escape my notice also that the chapters appeared to be much longer than those in Legend. This made the book less fast-paced and more character driven, which I didn’t necessarily dislike. I also liked how gay relationships were so open in this book and how the author treated them like any other relationship, despite the world being in chaos the people are more accepting here obviously, it made the story more likeable. I loved how the author kept you guessing until the last 20 pages about who we trust and what was going to happen next, it created a very enjoyable climax that left me really emotional. And when this happened, the characters finally got their stuff together in which I found myself shaking the book gleefully. That was a long time in the making.

Other thoughts:

  • Loved finding out details on the rest of the world, was very happy with how this was done
  • It felt like Day and June were cheating on each other at one point in the book
  • By the end I loved June so much!! But Tess is a bitch
  • Day is so blinded by his hatred (three quarters into the book)
  • The author said ‘I don’t know how much timed had passed, minutes maybe hours’ so many times it got a bit annoying
  • The end: feels feels feels
  • So excited to start Champion!!
  • “He is beauty, inside and out. He is a silver lining in a world of darkness. He is my light.”

If you want to keep up to date with what I’m currently reading check out my Goodreads account on the Links page of my blog!

As always, thanks for reading!!

One thought on “Prodigy- Marie Lu [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

