Reviews

Legend- Marie Lu [Review]

 

legend usa

“In a future society, North America is divided by two warring nations–the Republic and the Colonies.

Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen–year–old June is a prodigy.

Born into the slums of the Republic’s Lake Sector, fifteen–year–old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal.

From different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother is murdered. And Day becomes the prime suspect. Now, caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival while June tries desperately to avenge her brother’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together and the sinister secrets their country is hiding.”

First things first, I was not expecting to like this book as much as I did. Sure, I enjoy a good dystopian but there are so many around it’s hard to find one that really stands out. I believe this is the one.

This book was so fast-paced and action packed the pages kept turning and when I’d put the book down for a bit I’d always be surprised by how much I had read. Lu knows how to pull you into a story, that’s for sure. I’m super excited to start the next book Prodigy.

Here’s a run down on my thoughts:

Characters: 5/5 Stars

I loved every single character in this book, even the ones I hated. I will admit that June took a bit of warming up for me but in only her third chapter I was already ensnared in her story.

So June, she’s passionate, feisty and strong-willed, pretty much a perfect female lead character. Her decisions weren’t that of a typical teenage girl that you sometimes read in books but rather independent which is why she ended up being my favourite. I also think she developed very nicely. At the start she was slightly blinded by her pride and a little bit stuck-up (which is why I didn’t like her immediately) but ended up almost growing mature beyond her years. I enjoyed reading about her perceptive nature and extreme intelligence but mostly her no-nonsense attitude.

Now Day. He was also an easy to like character and held similar qualities to June in that he was rather perceptive and quite intelligent. His devotion to his family and his ability to make people feel at ease and comfortable is what drew me to his character. Day grew out of his shell as well, whilst he always had stood up for himself, he learnt focused courage. His chapters were particularly well written and his thoughts were very relatable and almost worryingly never of himself therefore being another character that was a joy to read from the view of.

As for Thomas. I HATED HIM SO MUCH!  He was ok…

Plot: 5/5 Stars

When I finally put this book down after being taken on a rollercoaster ride of emotions I found myself admiring the way Lu weaved the plot in this story. Because it was so fast-paced you were always eager to find out what happened next and Lu perfectly placed the chapters between the two main characters, overlapping and flowing nicely. I would say this is one of the most thrilling dystopian plots I’ve ever read. Lu wrote it how it was, never stretched and never dry. She covered ground without giving you 600 pages to get through. I loved it!

World building/development: 4/5 Stars

I wanted more! Much more! While the world building that Lu did described was very vivid (I especially loved the sector descriptions and the inner sector facilities like the atmosphere around certain buildings etc). She touched on the colonies and the patriots but she never really went into details about either of these groups. The only reason it’s four out of five stars is because I believe she’s heading in the direction that I want for these things to become more real for the reader. In Prodigy I believe Day and June travel to the colonies and work with the patriots so we’ll get more of that later. Don’t let me down Marie Lu! However, as I mentioned, her world building inside the republic was very interesting and lucid.

Writing: 4/5 Stars

Lu’s writing style was very direct and straight to the point which I found great at some parts and not so effective in other. It makes the story very quick and lively but doesn’t leave much room for imagination and description. However I enjoyed her writing. It’s risky to write with the writing style she used for sometimes it can be choppy, but for the most part it flowed very nicely. She wrote so that the audience is very wide. Easy to understand but also emotive and fun which gives it good appeal in the young adult genre. What was with the whole ‘cousin’ thing though? Day said it a lot and it confused me.

Other thoughts:

-Sometimes the pacing of this book was almost too fast and my slow brain couldn’t keep up.

-At times June and Day’s voices were indistinguishable but not enough to make me dislike the characterisation.

-Still waiting for an answer to the ‘cousin’ thing!

-“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time. -Day”

-“I don’t know if anyone’s ever told you this”, he begins. He doesn’t blush, and his eyes don’t dart away. Instead I find myself staring into a pair of oceans – one perfect, the other blemished by that tiny ripple. “You’re very attractive.” I laughed out loud probably a bit too much at this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

